Branching out: Weku

D2BF2B30-DA71-44FB-BF17-0A866296F5BD.png

A week or so ago, I heard @papa-pepper talking about a new crypto network called Weku and decided to try it out.

Weku is basically a clone of Steemit, so a lot of the stuff is the same. As Weku is still so new, there are a few bugs, yet (for example, their image upload function is a tad glitchy at the moment), but there’s a lot of really cool things in the works. They plan to offer integrated video hosting (so you wouldn’t have to use Youtube if you didn’t want), for example. They have also been doing a lot to block bots, so the community can offer a more human feel.

After being on a week, the community seems to be very vibrant and friendly, and is a pleasure to interact with. 🙂 Plus, if you join, as their coin won’t be on the exchanges yet for another 3-6 months, you have the potential for building early reputation points, and being able to cash out well when it does (I have heard that when Steem went ‘live,’ its value spiked over $6 USD 😱).

Not to mention, if you sign up now they are offering a sign up bonus of $100WP (their equivalent of Steem Power).

If you are interested in giving it a go, please do, and you can tell them I sent you:
https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=heatherthebard

427C0C3F-231A-4090-98FF-0DB54D4EA869.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @heatherthebard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Interesting! I signed up last week just because someone had mentioned that the names from steemit are being "bought up".... so if we wanted to have the chance to have our own name over there - to sign up

I did - and i don't think i got any bonus? hmmmm i'll have to check!

How is the community different there than Steemit? Is it just a smaller community and more intimate right now?

It takes about a week before you get your bonus.

A lot of people are saying Weku is like the Steemit of a year ago. I find there are practically no bots, and people are really putting out good content. There seems to be very few, too, who do the “upvote me and i’ll upvote you” crap that happens a lot here.

Right - it could be that it's still new and people are waiting to come out of the woodworks with that. hahahahaha
who knows? I'll have to check my account when I think about it. A friend of mine was going to post in both places - same blog... to see what happened. I told her to tell me the results LOL

I have been mirroring my posts and they are reaching far more people on Weku it seems. I am encouraged enough to stick it out and see what the coin does when it goes live on the exchanges.

Interesting! Maybe I'll try it for a week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66