Flash block io is a scam?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

As much as it is important to trade and invest in ICOs and Airdrops, at the same time it is utterly important to keep you accounts safe.

You can see in my previous posts that I often apply for "Airdrops" and only share 100% legitimate and self-verified airdrops to my readers on steemit.
In case i find any scam, i also instantly update it with the details that i find during my investigation related to that scam airdrops/ICOs.


Today, i received an e-mail from flashblocks.io that i need to do my KYC verification in order to get my free airdrop tokens, which i might have applied in the past but could not recall. Here is what the e-mail looked like:

I think very professional, neat and you can hardly doubt it, right?

So, as usual I clicked on the “Get started” button provided and it took me to a website which was also very well-aligned and in the first looks you cannot doubt that it does not belong to an ICO. They asked me for my: E-mail, Wallet address and telegram ID I guess, nothing to be suspicious of as it is a routine for ICOs to collect this data for Airdrops.

I followed up with the process and It redirected me to a signature page on MEW (myetherwallet).

Being a noob, I thought it would be the same as making a contract so I was going to log in, just when I thought that it wasn’t better to risk the security of my wallet without double checking what it was about and that’s when I did some investigation.

Found, that there is no flash back ICO and there is not even website for this ICO. Only an airdrop page which is shining on the top. I immediately closed my ether wallet account and reported this website. So, to my screen now, when I click to this link it takes me to this page automatically:

But, if you are being redirected to any other page:

Please, do not, I repeat do not register for it. It is a sure scam.

And for those who have already, please change your MEW passwords/Keys as soon as possible or transfer your tokens to some new wallet.

Please share with everyone, you can save someone

giphy.gif

Sort:  

it happened to me as well, they are asking for my private key in MEW for them to verify my account and that's a red flag for me so i immediately stopped and search if this is a scam and indeed it is!

Damage, why do people do this? This is just crazy. Everybody is already doing the hard way of investing in ICOs, taking risks and then there come these people. By passing everything. I am glad to know that you are safe :)

This post has received a $12.50 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @haseez.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36