Cryptocurrency account hacked: it finally happened to me!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

It is a bad feeling! It is really a bad feeling!

Bitcoin stolen!
You can read regularly a lot of similar stories, Bitcoin exchanges are periodically hacked, you take your precautions and hope it will not happen to you.

However, you know it can happen, right?
But when it actually happen...
It is not easy and I am still trying to accept it.

It is not a great moment for cryptocurrency, with this serious and apparently unstoppable down-trend and then this (one of my account hacked) on top of it.

Briefly the story:
I wanted to buy some Bitcoin Private but they can be bought only on 8-10 exchanges. I picked one of them (HitBTC) and started reading reviews about it. It seemed a bit unreliable but I decided to give them a chance. I made a small deposit and I bought few BTG and BTCP. I moved away immediately the BTG but I decided that it could be kind of safe to keep there the BTCP for a while.

A few days later, my BTCP disappear, it is not even clear to me how the hacker did it. Since I need to confirm through email for withdraw but they bypass that system.

The rage remains, the coins are gone...
The support is non-existent, basically they never reply!

Do as you wish but I recommend to be very careful with HitBTC and personally, I hope they will burn in hell for the eternity!

Sort:  

Always store your cryptocurrency offline on a hardware wallet when you want to be 100% safe. Exchanges can get hacked.
https://steemit.com/crypto/@niel96/fkxwctmxw

Though this is good advice, hitbtc does stand as one of the few exchanges not to be hacked so far since its inception back in 2014. If there are concerns about the money you got in the account just whitelist your approved wallet addresses and never share your details with people. These exchanges are still financial platforms and have security measures in place that go beyond the platform's own security

Yeah, and the issue here with BTCP really scapes ones control, you can do every step right and then it's the project you've been supporting the one that cuts deeper by not providing support to the exchanges it is listed on. I had to sell my BTCP and never look back.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Do as you wich but I recommend to be very careful with HitBTC and personally i hope they will burn in hell for the eternity!
It should be which instead of wich.

actually wish but you did a good job!

Hey my hitbtc account hacked 8 hours ago and still waiting a response from hıtbtc support. do you get any result of this?

My dude try again, their support is pretty fast nowadays, i know this isn't related to btcp but just as a general tip whitelist your withdrawal addresses, it's a feature within the platform that I think we could make better us of and that way we don't facilitate access to our funds to potential hackers.

I think the issue with BTCP is that they didn't inform the platform of the coin burn, better said they didn't provide support to deal with it with enough time to make all BTCP funds safe.

A shame

bitcoin privaet funds were reimbursed to users in the platform according to hitbtc, if you didn't get yours just send them a ticket they should be able to credit them. At least that's what I did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15