You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Science is the way – is Gridcoin going to help it?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

So who would actually buy the Gridcoin from me? Only speculators and those who are looking to build a huge pile of tokens to stake and enjoy the good interest.

This question could be asked about almost all cryptocurrencies. Only a small percentage have actual use cases at this point like Bitcoin and Storj. So many crypto coins cannot be used for anything but trading, speculating and staking. It's the hope that they will eventually be able to be used to pay our bills that keeps us buying them.

Sort:  

You’re right that most of them aren’t really solving anything, but there definitely are plenty that do. Gridcoin is at least not just a copy of BTC and tries to help the science and I do hope that those that have the computing power to at least pay for the electricity loss will continue doing it for the good cause. I do not have such luck now and have to keep searching for coins that will help me grow to the point where I can be doing things just for a good cause too:P. I think that Gridcoin will only go up with the rest of the cryptos and not too much on its own. And if there will actually be a pump, all those guys that are farming the tokens will just sell to pay for that electricity.

I agree, and by the way, I have been mining Gridcoin for about two years now. so I have seen more than a few of it's peaks and valleys. I've even managed to sell close to the peak and buy in the valley a time or two. I do like that they are at trying to work toward a good cause and not just some clone coin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70