You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Legal Basis of Cryptocurrency Forks

Hey, @blocktrades.

I appreciate the analysis on the legalities of forking. I didn't know that some folks thought it was an issue, since it's happened elsewhere with varying degrees of success.

I guess what I would be most interested in is knowing the legality of using a soft fork to effectively freeze, or however it should be phrased, the use of an account or accounts on an existing blockchain. Are there legal ramifications for that? What recourses does an account have in the event it happens to them?

For me, that's far more front and center, and frankly, I don't know the answer when it comes to cryptocurrency. I wonder if there's even precedent for it, and if so, how that turned out. If it hasn't happened prior to what happened here on STEEM, what are things that could realistically be done to legally reclaim use, providing that whatever terms there might be for having the soft fork removed were not met?

Sort:  

Took one for the team. I clicked the link, so you don't have to. Inside I found:

For example if me now am and am alone in my room or anywhere but I don’t know how to press a phone and I call somebody for help it means am going to lose life due to lack of knowledge.

#truth

Forget @blocktrades' post, get this man on trending stat!

This triggered a wicked joke within my mind but I think I'll just bite my tongue this time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44