25th May

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Bitcoin: $7,502.04
Market Cap: $334,235,555,362

A very strange 24 hours has just come to an end, and has ended up in me suddenly being, shall we say, free from the obligations of work. I was pulled into a four-man meeting out of the blue yesterday at work and told that I was the subject of an internal investigation regarding my dealings in cryptocurrency on work time. They’d been tracking my use of crypto sites, which are literally open all day on my screen, and basically told me that trading cryptocurrency at work constitutes moonlighting and is seen as gross misconduct. So I was sent home from work and told to come back at nine the next morning, which was then delayed to midday, where in a five minute meeting I was dismissed with immediate effect. And so here I am at home having lost my job within 24 hours.

Now in normal circumstances this would be a horrifying situation for someone who has kids to feed and has a termination under his belt, but the fact is that I had stopped caring about that job and its shitty pay for over a year and, in that time, I’ve made 10x my annual salary in crypto anyway. I was already working my notice period before going full time in crypto, and while it would have been nicer to leave in better circumstances, the fact that I’m now free to pursue crypto around four weeks sooner than expected is an absolute blessing with the market as it is. I really was doing more crypto than actual work and I’m shocked it took them this long to find me out! I’m not saying I wanted to get sacked, but when the opportunity came up to defend myself I offered no defence whatsoever which forced their hand a little to going by the regulations and getting rid of me. I knew it was coming in the second meeting and just wanted to get it over with asap to get back home and start my new life. I’ve been mentally there for many months anyway, so it made little impact. Some people have mentioned that if it ever comes to getting a new job how will I handle the termination? Well, given that I’ve set up my own company of which I am director and through which I’ll funnel my crypto profits, if crypto takes off as we assume I will, over the next five years or so, demonstrate that I’ve been running a successful IT solutions company bringing in (in an ideal world) six figure incomes and beyond. Do this for five to ten years and, if by some chance I need a regular job, I think I’ll be alright.

So I’m in a very odd position right now – I’ve been fired, and the two meetings were horrible experiences, but overall I’ve got exactly what I wanted in the end. I’m now, finally, full time in crypto, and I’m absolutely over the moon. It hasn’t sunk in yet than on Tuesday when I should be back to work I will instead be in bed checking out the markets, although I’ve already realised that now it gets serious. It’s no longer a hobby, it’s my financial future, and I need to take it much more seriously, which I will start to do over the weekend by formulating a proper strategy.

I’m lucky in that the markets haven’t really done anything in the past day or so because I’ve not been able to concentrate on anything but my work situation, and I’m shattered after only ten minutes’ sleep last night thinking about it, but it seems we’re still waiting for the bottom to come in and the last of the weak hands to be shaken out before we, hopefully, have the bull market that’s stuttered so far and failed to properly materialise.

So, amazingly, within 24 hours and a completely (well, not completely unexpectedly) unexpected turn of events, I now find myself in the place I hoped I would be for some time – I’m now fully engaged in crypto and very excited about it. Rock on.

Sort:  

Don`t worry cryptocurrency is an ever flourishing industry and it will be so better than your job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52