Talking about kindness: Gates Foundation and Ripple

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Last day I came upon the news about Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (https://www.gatesfoundation.org/) collaborating with Ripple crypto currency to provide free money exchange via mobile wallet for developing countries. You can find more information on this link:

https://ripple.com/insights/ripple-the-gates-foundation-team-up-to-level-the-economic-playing-field-for-the-poor/

That makes me think.

First of all, I've been in the Computer Science field since I was a kid, and I grew with the belief that Bill Gates was the devil himself: Microsoft developed bad operative systems, it took a lot of money from the people that used computers, Bill was extremely rich and becoming richer destroying competition etc. Then I grew up and found that Bill Gates was investing a lot of money in charity projects and helping the poor. That changed completely my perspective, of course.

Then, yesterday, I found that the Gates Foundation was collaborating with Ripple on this "Level one project" (https://leveloneproject.org/). That was mind blowing.

I'm really happy that Crypto currencies are finally being a part of our everyday life, but I am much happier that this technology can change (in better, of course) the life of the third world populations. I'm happy that a colossus in computer science like Bill Gates is investing in this technology, changing even more the idea I had of Bill Gates and Microsoft... and I'm happy that Cryptos are finally used to restore some faith in humanity.

That's great news for all the Crypto enthusiast, don't you think?

Sort:  

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76