Sort:  

I totally agree with you here. People are just so normalized to accept ads, even if they annoy all of us. It's just about acclimatizing people to something new.

People are used to it. They are annoyed but what they see. Graphics plays a role, mining is something that is going on in the background. They won't notice it unless they are keeping a track on Task Manager.

Just look at these two website;
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/
http://www.independent.co.uk/

How crowded they are. You would hardly find the right news you are looking for. Still they are attracting the users. I am sure your site looks better than that.

I mean look at the Independent using Taboola Ads. Can you even believe that for a Newspaper that is one of the top in the world is looking forward to revenue from those ads. They could have just let it go.

But no, there's no free lunch. Play moral, show ethics, be good and be generous but don't kick yourself for all that.

In the end, just a humble advice, may be you should put a declaration and offer some to your registered users randomly or hold a weekly/monthly draw or something as an incentive. I guess that would be a win-win.

Of course, if your platform supports that I am unsure what type of user base you have.

I totally agree this is a saner way to to do to than adds. And the end result would enjoy a way better user experience. That's all great.

I don't write for any advertizer supported media. I do get paid to write about WordPress and realated stuff, but it's been awhile since I did that on a site with adds.

To be honest part of what I'm doing here is to try and understand an alternative approach to content management, beacuse I see it as an interesting cross over between blockchain technology and the tech I normally work with, just not sure yet what that means.

Great! for content management steemit is the right place. They have just announced their plans for SMT (social media token) and that's probably something very ideal for you.

It is as simple as it can get, you issue your own token, integrate it with your own platform/web and issue it as an incentive to your users.

I would suggest you look into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26