Trading with Bollinger Bands

If you're going to invest in crypto and especially if you're going to trade, you REALLY should research how to use Bollinger Bands to trade. They make trading REALLY fucking easy!

Excuse my language. I tried to censor myself and I just can't. This isn't a job interview. If you don't like it, I would suggest just hitting the back button and checking out another post.

Screenshot_2018-09-21_22-08-59-crop.png

Above you can see a screenshot of Steem's price from a few minutes before I started writing this post. The blank label on the side is due to some weird bug that I get with Binance that continually pisses me off. I often have to quit my browser and reload it to get it to work.

Bollinger Bands really make it extremely easy to trade. As you can see from the snapshot, the price of Steem tends to just bounce back and forth off the upper and lower Bollinger bands. Occasionally it also bounces off the middle line, which is something like a median price I believe. I don't remember for sure, as it's been years since I actually studied how these works. Trading with them is really easy, even if you don't know what they are though.

I HIGHLY suggest that you research Bollinger Bands yourself from multiple sources before you start trading with them, and start trading using a small amount until you are more used to it. I am not a certified teacher, nor do I have any form of permission slip from our overlords to give you advice on investing. I'm just going to tell you how I trade.

Knowing that the price of crypto often bounces off the upper and lower Bollinger Bands, you can see how it might be really fucking easy to trade using them. You'd be right. What I do is use the upper band as a guide as to where to sell at, in concert with the order booklet, and then use the order booklet, along with the lower Bollinger Band, to decide where to buy back in.

I'd like to warn you that every time it goes up, there's a chance it can blast right through your sell, and not even look back. That's when you're fucked, and you might lose a lot of money. Then you have to decide if you're going to buy back in, and if you do, it will promptly reverse, fucking you over. If, however, you don't buy back in, it might just go to the moon, and you'll end up crying on the toilet with hemorrhoids.

Most of the time though, if you place a few sales with different percentages of your holdings at points just below the upper Bollinger Band, and then a few more sales around the upper line and above it, you should be able to pretty safely buy a bit lower.

Screenshot_2018-09-21_22-42-58-buys.png

Above you can see where I have placed some of my buys.

Depending on how balsy you are, you can decide to put most of your buys anywhere from just a bit below your sell point, to halfway down, or even as far down as the lower Bollinger Band, or below it. Just be aware that the chances of the price dipping below the lower Bollinger Band are much lower than it hidding the midpoint or even just above the lower band. For example, right now it looks like it might not actually go down and hit the lower band, and my lower buys, so it might have been better for me to set all of my buys at just below the midpoint. That's a risk you take when you place your buys though.

Sometimes you can see that it's going to go back up and decide to buy back in before it goes back up, sell at a higher point and then once again buy back in at a mid point or low.

Doing this process over and over again, carefully, with practice, you actually can make quite a large percentage increase to your holdings, with the occasional bad trade that you might have to try to earn back over the next few hours or days.

Potentially, you can use just this technique to trade...but I highly suggest that you research yourself, and research a lot. Watch videos. Read guides. Trust no one. Use multiple sources for everything you're trying to learn.

Good luck trading! Everyone with money in crypto really should learn how!

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Sadly I find this one too late to upvote :) Nice bands! thanks for this one :)
I use/d moving average and iinteresctions... but gonna try with bands too :)

Cheeers!

I'm pretty sure I used to trade with moving averages on Forex occasionally. It worked pretty well. Perhaps I should look into that with crypto.

I've found my current method very effective MOST of the time for safe very profitable trades. The majority of the time you want to keep most of your sales far above the line, but you can easily make a few steem/crypto every time it bounces off the top line and goes back to the bottom. Sadly it doesn't always hit the bottom though, so you have to put some of your trades around the middle line, and above the lower line, and watch to see if there's any point where you need to just buy back in, or move your buys up a bit.

Occasionally when it's really going down, it doesn't even hit the middle line. You gotta kinda just grit your teeth some of those times, and risk selling to make a bit of profit buying in a bit lower.

Neat! I've never really used the bands but I sometimes look at the moving average. If it's really far below the moving average I know it's a good time to buy; if it's above, I know it's probably not my best localised buying opportunity.

I don't worry about when to sell because I don't sell crypto.

Hi @geekpowered!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.013 which ranks you at #3432 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 3429).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 424 contributions, your post is ranked at #221.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@geekpowered Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74