Did Ethereum Drop to $20??? It Really Happened!!!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0156.PNG

I read somewhere that Ethereum dropped to $20 at some point for around a minute and a half. I didn't believe it until I found an image on Facebook (the one with the notifications) and then I checked CoinBase.

It really did happen! This is shocking! People who bought it at that price must have made a lot of money!

I checked on eToro but it was not the case. eToro's charts didn't show Ethereum dropping below $290. I wonder why?

Any thoughts on this? Did you invest when it was at $20 for a minute? It definitely must have been a glitch.

IMG_0157.PNG

Sort:  

It wasn't a glitch, some posh motherfucker with 38,000+ Eth from a few years ago dumped it from his wallet into GDX I believe it was, and, well, only 12k buy ordered were in place, sooooo

Nobody picked it up who didn't have an auto-buy though, it lasted too short and everything crashed.

Imagine if i was sitting there looking at the screen on coinbase and sudden realised it had dropped and bought a few hundred eths! I wouldn't be here!

A much better explanation can be found here: https://t.co/vBMQLoVo8i
Essentially a fat-finger triggered a stop-loss sales cascade, which wiped out the order book. It's a total disaster for many people.

coinmarketcap.com still has ethereum at $336.89

Yes it must have been a glitch.

It really happened, it wasn't a glitch.

It was a glitch, I read somewhere thatno buy orders went through at that price.

It wasn't a glitch, some posh motherfucker with 38,000+ Eth from a few years ago dumped it from his wallet into GDX I believe it was, and, well, only 12k buy ordered were in place, sooooo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51