You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Use of Your Idle Laptop To Make Money for You: Minergate Walkthrough #2

Great post. But I have a question which is that, will mining with my laptop give me a profit above the expenses I make while mining, such a cost of internet service, electricity bill, etc. Tanx for the wonderful information on mining

Sort:  

Hi @gabrielinnocent, well if you are on a limited internet data connection, then mining in anything from your laptop might not work.
As I have mentioned in post one, this is only useful when you have unlimited dataplan.
And for profitability, it also depends on your laptop's specification; for laptops that has good graphics car, that laptop is naturally going to be better than onboard cards; and if your CPU is only 2 cores, it will be slow.
But the good part is lower powered CPUs will take less energy as well.
And the end of the day, as I have mentioned in my posts, this are for lightweight casual miners who wants to let their PC / laptop work instead of idle; because the moment we bought our devices, its value will start to depreciate. And in Malaysia, electronic devices depreciates its value by 20% at its original cost and it will keep dropping. So if you think that this little program can help earn back something in crypto, by all means.
Otherwise, cloud mining should be something you can look into.
Hope this helps.

Yah it really does. I now have a full understanding. My laptop is two core, so obviously it can't serve. But thanks anyways

Well, previously I actually mined on a Pentium Core 2 Duo before in a Windows 7 32 bit platform and it still works.
Unless yours is a really old one like a Dual Core, then it will not work for you @gabrielinnocent
My current all-in-1 i5 2 Core HP PC works though. It is a Windows 8.1 64 bit with 6 GB RAM.
So if your spec is close to mine, you can still have a chance.

Mine is a core i3 with a 3gb ram, windows 7,64bit hp laptop.what do you think

hm. slow, but could still work because my light weight i3 laptop mines it. but you can't put it full force. it will hang.

Okay no problem. Thanks