Major Fuckup - Successful double spend was done in #QuatlooCoin on Bittrex - Coin to be delisted?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

It finally happened, someone managed to successfully doublesped almost 80,000 QuatlooCoin on @Bittrex Exchange. From my point of view, the coin is officially DEAD until the damn shitcoin is replaced with a Bitshares, Ethereum or soon to come, Golos or Steem Issued Tokens.

danger-24045_960_720.png

This just show how vulnerable POW-Coins are for 51% attacks. Be aware! @Bittrex has disabled the wallet for deposits and withdraw, and AFAIK the Coin-Dev and the QuatlooCoin community has not yet been informed.

I obtained the following information by accident/confusion - so you might be one of the first people to know about this major fuckup.

doublespend.png


Shit like this - can never happen in STEEM or GOLOS

WARN OTHERS - RESTEEM & TWEET

Sort:  

wow good article, have to be careful what shitcoin's we invest in to.

I am not into shit coins... just forget these type of coins... even though they might have a purpose.

Yeah I stay clear from really shitty coins, the few times I tried buy and selling them lost more than I gained, hence why now I only own some of the top 10 coins.

for me it's bitcoin ETHereum and Steem,

yes it will never happens in STEEM.

Fortuitous that I sold all my Quatloo a few days ago.

You knew it xD

Inside job.

I don't know how thsi was done, but it seems to me it's a pretty small coin affected -- hence a 51% or similar sort of attack appears thinkable, nothing to get upset about for more established Crypto coins.

Noteworthy though, and thanks for sharing @fyrstikken.

Takk for at du deler, ha en fin dag..

I wonder wich forum/chat that is

It could be the 2008 banking crisis all over again. Just digitally.

It would be nice to doublespend some, though! 😈😎🎻🎺🎹🍸🍺🍻🍾🥃😜🤣🤑

That is crazy. Way to fall into info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61521.43
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49