You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Veritaseum Wallet Hacked?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

So is the main thing with all these crypto currency sites that folks do all this work to get their wallet padded with some money, all to have it stolen and hacked, all with no recourse, since none of this has any policing? In that sense, are we all just working to make the hackers rich by doing whatever it takes to puff our wallets out, only to have it all taken right before we cash in? Is that basically the game now? I'm seeing lots of articles where a person blogs for months, makes hundreds of dollars, then just when it's time to cash in, a hacker takes it all. Is Steem like that? If so, what is all this effort for? I'm new to crypto-currency so I don't understand all of what I'm seeing or hearing. But I'm starting to wonder if it's silly to put in all this work if, upon cash-in, a hacker takes it and then the Steemit organization does nothing to help us, and there are no authorities to appeal to? Am I understanding this right, or not? I just hoped to make a few pennies by blogging, but, even if I only made a dollar, after a few months, it would be sad to have that dollar taken and for Steemit to say, "It's not our problem or our job," and then to have the authorities say, "We don't handle crypto currency," and then to just have spent a month earning two dollars, all for that two dollars to even be taken. I'm not a computer expert, but I'm getting a sense that this seems to be going on, or maybe, given my lack of technical knowledge, maybe I'm just not understand the issues here.

Sort:  

It certainly is the wild west but makes at quite exciting .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60677.93
ETH 3360.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50