You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Conundrums and Paradoxes Inherent in Cryptocurrencies: A Non-Expert Exploration

These are exactly the issues that have been occupying my (more-than-your-techno-and-financially-illiterate) mind. I had heard about Bitcoin long before the 2017/8 spike and crash and also the system of barter or paying with crypto. In our village we still do a lot of bartering, but at the end of the day, bartering only takes you so far when you actually have to pay in local currency, via a traditional banking system for your mortgage, insurance and all sorts of other things. I do know that some folk on this platform do actually earn a living from what they do here, and I'm sure it's hard work. But they manage.

I'm beginning to think of Steemit as another / virtual country which is developing in a similarly dynamic way. This actually might be an interesting concept to explore.

Thanks for this. Gives me something to think about. When I'm in another meeting.

GTG and have a good day

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

I like the metaphor of looking at Steemit as a "country," complete with its own set of headaches and problems... because that is pretty much how it seems things work around here.

That metaphor or of a village. I said to @zord189 the other day that Steemit is a microcosm of the real world. As you say.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38