Hey Webmasters! Check out JSEcoin.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

"Java Script Enabled coin" is a way for webmasters to monetize their websites while offering users a pop-up footer, similar to "This site uses Cookies" pop-ups. JSEcoin closed out their pre-ICO on 4th of December. They're slated for public ICO and exchange listings in 2018, dates TBA. You can use JSEcoin to turn your websites into mining platforms. They've also got an embeddable JSEcoin miner that enables users to mine without leaving your site.

Join me in mining JSEcoin.


*Note: I'm a blogger, not a financial or legal advisor, do your own research before you jump into anything.



finleyexp 2.jpg

Twitter: mfinley80
SteemIt Intro: What's Up, STEEMIT?! I'm Monique Finley, a Blogger, Poet, and Author of the Free E-Serial: Terra Damnata!
1st Steemiversary: A Year of Hard Lessons, Heartache, and Healing
Serial Novel: Terra Damnata, Book 1 of The Pu'Shing Bhu'Tons Series

Sort:  

It this still alive? I have some coins from a few months ago. Probably can't sign in by now. Because I thought it was a scam.

Only time will tell. Doesn't hurt to mine until then.

I took interest to this a few months ago when all of that PirateBay news broke out. I think this is a great substitute for ads, I just wish that developers are responsible enough to not take advantage of users. They should ask users if they want to opt-in instead of just automatically using the browsers to mine. I heard this could really take a toll on mobile browsers.

As a site developer, I think it has a lot of promise. Specially for the tons of smaller sites that don't make shit with ads. It could really even the field for site owners who were producing content on a shoestring budget. If this coin is legit, then it is the answer to:

I just wish that developers are responsible enough to not take advantage of users. They should ask users if they want to opt-in instead of just automatically using the browsers to mine.

Though it does it in reverse, it allows the users to opt-out.

But, in the case of PirateBay, they didn't disclose what they were doing, so the data and the processing power of the users were compromised. Currently, there are workarounds to remove the opt-out having tested it. I wish they could enforce it more in the future. Like, if users opt out, then the ads will show. That way, there's always a revenue stream.

I think it's way less invasive than the tracking cookies used by adnets. Responsible site stewardship has to be a balance between what's best for the users and the business, so sure PirateBay didn't initially disclose testing site miners, but there's a lot of site testing that doesn't get disclosed until it becomes a feature.

Oh I agree, though it does take a toll on the RAM especially if one isn't prepared for it. I've had my desktop hang a number of times while browsing through sites that use JSEcoin. Also, I heard that it's a real pain for mobile browsers, that's why I left it out from the app I'm coding.

I hear that. I've got it running on one site with mixed results. One of the others is running coinhive's miner as an alternative, keep it throttled at 20-25%. I like that kind of control...I haven't yet seen with JSEcoin. I'll let the experiment continue :D

Oh yeah, coinhive has more control, but the pro for JSEcoin is that it has its own coin while coinhive is using monero.

I've been checking out Monero which seems very useful despite the controversy and debate surrounding it. At the same time, some big names are starting to adopt it. That's potential, you know?

JSEcoin hasn't left it's own platform yet, so there's still the great big possibility of it failing before it's tradeable. At least the shit coins on the exchanges are tradeable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63639.69
ETH 2734.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61