You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Science is the way – is Gridcoin going to help it?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I’m not implying that the token is useless. As I said its super good that those that lend their computing power to the scientific projects get rewarded. One though has to have a really good PC to gain something when counting in the cost of electricity. For me it was like throwing 15 bucks out of the window, but I understand...that competition was strong. If I had spare money i would support science even through this way, but I do not. I’ve done my share. Let’s hope others will continue.

I’m not saying that people shouldn’t support Gridcoin. If they have enough money to buy a huge stake then by all means everyone is free to go for it. The prize now seems really low too. I just feel that it lacks something extra that would make the coin more valuable.

Sort:  

First of, please stop calling Gridcoin a token... It's a coin, nothing else.

The reason you may feel that your 15 bucks was a waste is because the price has gone down again. But the reason that Gridcoin is low is because it's lack of big investors and adoption of miners. We will gain more miners as time passes, which will give more traders and volume. When the price goes up, more miners will come in.

Or we will have a price jump because of heavy investors, making it even more lucrative for miners to run BOINC. And trade volume may increase.

Gridcoin is at it's lovest and is stable at the level it's at now. Its going between 2.5 and 5-6 USD cents. But it has great potentials and just need more investors and/or miners.

Token = representation of the right to perform operation. Gridcoin enables you to vote with your stake, therefore it is ALSO a token. Token of course means even other things but this will do in this case.

I do hope so that the whole Gridcoin community will grow. I did not doubt its potential, merely the probability that it will fulfil its potential and will not be replaced by a better coin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27