Brave ICO Raises $35MM in 30 Seconds... The rise of crypto anarchy?!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

So there's a new web browser in the works, apparently. And it raised $35 MILLION in funding - in 30 seconds.

How? Apparently, through its ICO, aka "Initial Coin Offerings" (think IPO for cryptocurrencies).

Named "Brave", it's pitch to consumers is "faster loading times, tighter privacy controls and even the potential to earn money simply by reading content.

More immediately, it said it will use the proceeds of this ICO to develop its advertising platform."
Brave.png

Spearheaded by former Mozilla CEO Brendan Eich, this just demonstrates once again how technology is shifting and shaping
the way business is conducted in the world we currently live in.

Personally, I'm a huge fan of this idea - the whole "ICO" ordeal, that is.

Create your own coin/cryptocurrency, and then use them to raise startup funds. I think it's fucking ingenious.

I'm sure Wallstreet and the VC hedge funds aren't too happy, but f*ck 'em. I'm all for a little crypto anarchy ;)

What do you guys think?

Original source: https://techcrunch.com/2017/06/01/brave-ico-35-million-30-seconds-brendan-eich/

Sort:  

Right? I definitely like the idea - and I've noticed other companies are quickly adopting this new policy. It allows for much more usability/flexibility in terms of your invested dollars in a company. I'm loving the turns that blockchain/crypto is taking in general. Curious to see what's next :D

What really bummed me out about this ICO is it was mostly the whales who got in on the fun. I'm excited for KIK's ICO because apparently, they are going to make it more accessible to us common folk. ;-)

I hear you there - I definitely wanna get in on some of that action, if at all even possible. I do think that they should at least allow the ICO's to be public and available to the general population - would make this way more fun and exciting - also the prospect of "owning coins in a company" sounds pretty neat :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38