You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Questions on Genesis mining and Mining Rigs

I have a couple contracts with Genesis-Mining and a few miners of my own that I've setup. The Bitcoin contract is a little questionable. At this point it may be better to just straight up buy Bitcoin rather than mining it. It's hard to tell because for Bitcoin to be profitable it must continue growing in market value since the rewards for mining have decreased so much. The only plus side to the Bitcoin contracts with GM is that they will continue indefinitely as long as it is profitable to mine. But I would really only recommend getting an Ethereum contract if any with Genesis Mining, which you can then switch over to some other currency when Eth goes to POS. Setting up your own miners will definitely earn you more coin, but requires more time and effort to get working properly.

Sort:  

@evanfravert Thanks for your response, that is exactly what I have been thinking. Since you started your contract, how long has it taken to get your return and maybe some profits? I see a lot people saying something between 4-5 months but I guess it all depends on how much MH you are buying.

If you don't mind asking which contract did you buy?

I have a 20TH Bitcoin contract and a 100MH Ethereum contract. I'm only on my 3rd week with Genesis-Mining, but I would say about 5 months on your return is accurate and it mainly depends on how well the coin you are mining is doing in the market. If Eth were to blow up to about $500/coin I would make my money back in less than 4 months.

Also here is my affiliate code if you need one: 36gekR

Thank you for the information @evanfravert If I end up going the contract route I will certainly use your code. I think I am more interested in setting up a small rig for now, it seems more profitable my 1200 CAD computer gives me about 900 M/H which is much more that Genesis offers and for a better price.

I now just need to figure out the energy part and perhaps implementing a small solar system to make it more profitable in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88