"Where are the bitcoins I sent ?" Lessons I learnt today, from a crypto-beginnersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Good day Steemians ! How is your Sunday going so far ? Today I want to share with you a little story that happened to me today and gave me a reasonable amount of adrenaline.

Bitcoin-Noob.jpg

Well, yes I am Master Yoda, and I'm also a student passioned about new tech and that new blockchain thing really got my attention.

So yesterday evening, I bought a quite big amount of bitcoins (according to my revenues, which are approximately equal to zero) on Kraken. Yeah I now, the price is high right now before the fork but it is not for holding.

So then I waited a bit just to be sure that my transaction has been processed. Once I received the confirmation, I then started to fill the gap with the information required for withdrawal.

My objective was to send a number of Bitcoins I bought to another trading platform, Coss.io (that I recommend for many reasons I may explain later, feel free to check their white paper).

So when I sent them, I accepted the fee and then waited for any confirmation. But none arrived.

After 20 minutes, I first received the information that my transaction has been accepted. But still nothing on my Coss account!

After digging a little bit, first information, I learned that most of the exchange wait 3 to 6 hours after first confirmation for the transaction to be secured in the blockchain before adding it to your wallet

So I tried to chill out and waited. 3hours, 4hours, 5hours, still nothing. It has now been almost six hours, what could I do?

Well, not much, as you may know, that bitcoin doesn't respond to any authority. But the transactions are public!

And so I found and went to blockchain.info, a real-time view of all the transactions that are being validated. There, I finally got the confirmation that my transaction had been validated by the nodes only by researching the address I was supposed to have sent the bitcoin to.

One-hour later, my coss.io wallet had the bitcoins, ready to be traded.

Lessons from today adventure: be patient, write the proper address while sending and don't hesitate to dig for information and share them.

Seek the positive in every situation,

Take care,

Rob.


To support this channel about traveling, living your dreams, mastering your body and mind, please feel free to upvote, follow and/or resteem.
Life Bless You, my friends!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41