You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Movement: Striving to Thriving. Who's in?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Hello,
I can tell you're a positive person, which is good, a person, which is also good... so far, so good.

I find your post just way too long. I think you have some good things to say but honestly I stopped reading after the first paragraph or so.

I'm new to Steemit; I'm not sure whether people would prefer a reply that isn't "oh, great, so wonderful" to no reply at all?

I think if you value this kind of reply you'll reply in turn, so time will tell.

All the best

Sort:  

Giving up after the first paragraph or so, just may mean you aren't into reading medium or lengthly posts, or the topic of the post isn't in your interest so much, but that's ok, we all have our preferences and opinions.

As you said, you're new to steemit, and as you've probably noticed, you'll see all different lengths in posts, too short, too long, too confusing. It's about finding the ones that you prefer.

This is my longest post I've done so far, I usually keep them short/medium length, it really all depends on what I have to say. But I think some people don't mind reading longer post. (I'm one of those people.)

I do appreciate your feedback and I do realize I'm not going to be everyone's cup of tea and I'm totally ok with that :)

Best of luck here on the platform!

Since you say you value feedback....

With all due respect, it's not about preferences and opinions. It's more about percentage of quality in the content.

Imagine for example you are making corn on the cob for your beloved. You buy the corn cobs, then throw them unpeeled into the pot and cook them. Then you set the whole pot with the cooked but unpeeled steaming cobs in front of your beloved.

You say, Enjoy! and smile sweetly, leaving beloved to fish the cobs out of the hot water and peel off the husks to get to the delicious corn underneath. Surprisingly, or not, beloved doesn't appreciate as much as you might expect!?!

It's kinda like that. You have good ideas that are all buried in a bunch of extra husks and stringy bits. If you (and many others on Steemit) would write a first draft and then edit it down to about half, what remains would be awesome. Just the delicious, golden kernals, just the sweet corn itself!

In my opinion.

Cheerio, all the best!

I will admit, I agree with your little example story here, I get it and I see value in it and it is a major goal I strive for, to get to the point. But I disagree with you that its saying its not a matter of opinion. It's your formed opinion about the percentage if the quality within the content and how that is measured. Says who? You.

I am not a professional writer. And I'm certainly one that doesn't always follow the rules. I do not edit my work very often (other than looking for mistakes or minor things), in the future maybe I will ... I free write as it flows and I like that style of writing for the time being.

There are many videos out there right now that are way longer than they need to be to get a point across, (In my opinion) but I don't think it takes away the value. Maybe it just took the person that long to talk through the subject.

As I said, I get what you're trying to say, but lets remember, you did say you only "made through the first paragraph or so" of this post, because it's going to take you so long to read it, yet you've spent a significant amount of time trying to get your own point across about my post being too long.

If you have the expectation that everyone here on steemit should be professional writers with short articles, I think you're going to be disappointed..

Hi again,

I thought of you today and would have more to say, or not is OK too...

Here's my post from today btw:

https://steemit.com/funny/@elderchild/red-pill-blue-pill-2-antarctica

Cheerio!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44