The Crypto Newbie - My 2 months of short experience.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

It has been a little bit more than 2 months that I’ve decided to dive into the crypto world. If you consider yourself a newbie, and maybe want to make extra income, but have no idea at all how things work, this post could help you organize ideas on where to start.

I decided to share my experience because I know how it feels not knowing how to learn, and also, I have seen other newbies making mistakes that I would probably have made as well if I hadn’t been studying the way I did.

In one of my first posts, I wrote about the way I was going to start learning about Blockchain and Crypto (in Spanish), this is how it has been in these first two and half months as a newbie.
whereto.jpeg
source

My personal study plan:

  • Read, Read, Read!
    It’s amazing the things I have learned from everything I’ve read. Blockchain technology is and will disrupt everything and we all should be part of this economical revolution. In a way I felt I was late because Blockchain and Bitcoin started back in 2008 / 2009, and there is also more history before that, but you know what? We are not late, nobody is too late, and you should start and learn now.
    I read the Satoshi White Paper, and I did not understand much, so I went and read the entire website of www.bitcoin.org which was very useful. I recommend you to start with the website, read it not once, but twice if is necessary, and then go to the Satoshi White Paper.
    So I kept reading about the blockchain technology, cryptocurrencies, more developer’s whitepapers, websites and still... there is a sea of information to swim in.
    The more you read, the more you learn but also, the more you like it!

    catreading.jpg
    source

  • Keep up-to-date with crypto news:
    This was also part of my study plan. Now I read the crypto news every single morning while I drink my coffee. There are plenty of websites and apps, and for mobile phones, I recommend BTC NEWS:

btcnews.jpeg
source

  • Watch documentaries:
    Well, this was just for the first week or two when I entered the crypto world. Between my family, sport and job, there is no longer time to sit and enjoy Netflix or TV, which is actually good if you think about it but still, for someone wanting to enter the crypto world, it’s always good to watch documentaries about it, specially to know about how everything started. I’m listing some of them here:

    Ulterior States // IamSatoshi Documentary
    The Bitcoin Phenomenon
    Banking on Bitcoin

  • Social Media:
    I was not the type of person that uses social media all the time, however this had to change if I wanted to be up to date. I like to use twitter a lot, not to tweet myself, but mostly to follow developers, crypto enthusiasts, news etc. You can start following them on facebook too.

Now here is the fun part of what I learned, while I was opening these accounts, I discovered about chat apps and channels that I did not know before. I also discovered Steemit and found out about new apps lined up in the crypto world. As soon as I discovered that you can also earn crypto by creating your own content, posting your pictures, making videos, etc, I got hooked to Steemit.

For example, download steepshot in your android, or from your PC setup your account.
Steepshot is an app based on the Steem blockchain where you can also earn cryptocurrency or tokens, ins this case would be Steem Backed Dollars (SBD) by posting your pictures, without having to spend any money from your pocket.

steep.jpeg

source
Keep an eye out for APPICS, a new upcoming project, which has a partnership with Steemit and will have its own currency (XAP). They will use the Steem blockchain as a foundation and build an ecosystem on top of it. This is going to be amazing!
Here is their official video
appics.jpg

source
Dont forget to go to their website and read the whitepaper to understand it better =)

Talking about chat channels, wow! there are a few, and honestly not knowing about them made me feel very lost. These are the ones I recommend you to open up an account:

DISCORD is a chat and text app that was designed for gaming communities, but with time people created different discord servers to discuss anything. There are good servers related with cryptocurrency. After opening your steemit account, make sure you look for those Discord Servers and join them or ask to be invited. It is very easy to search for those.

TELEGRAM is another messaging app where you can join or create different channels. I have been joining the ones that I am interested the most. It will all depend what type of path you want to take, me personally I like cryptocurrency trading, so I looked for those channels.

discord and telegram pic.jpg

Source

You will probably ask yourself “How am I supposed to cashout my crypto into fiat?” there are plenty of ways to do it like trading, selling it, but first things first, start by understanding cryptocurrency.

If you want to learn about trading, make sure you understand cryptocurrency first and the blockchain technology. I won't write on this post about trading since I’m still a “student” myself, but I will write about a little mistake I’ve made and some recommendations in another post for newbies like me.

  • Watch YouTubers:
    I always try to dedicate at least 30 mins of the day watching crypto enthusiasts on youtube. There are a lot of them once you start researching any crypto topic. Subscribe to the ones you like the most and setup an alert.
    Sunny Decree is still my favorite! And if you ever find one you like and think is outstanding, please share.

The crypto world is big and growing. I join it looking for a new way of income but the more I discover it, the more I want to learn new things that not necessarily have to be with “making money”.

btcworld.png

source

It’s funny how, the more I learn about it, the less I want to sell or convert my crypto into fiat.

I hope this post will help you go into the right direction before you start looking on investing and where to keep your crypto. I will wait another 2 months, gather the information about my investment plan as a newbie and its result, and I will share it with you, hopefully with a positive outcome, but if not, well is always good to share the mistakes as well so you don't make the same.

IMPORTANT: do not start investing if you have not learn about how the ecosystem works and learn about safety procedures. If you are the type of person that uses the same password for all your cyber accounts, then you should consider reading about safety procedures.

A crypto hug to everybody!

Disclaimer: this is the way it worked for me, it may not work for you, but you will never know if you don’t try it.

Sort:  

Keep going, i send my work in the university (sorry it's in french so maybe it's not for you but maybe for someone who reading you) :
https://github.com/jimy74/Chablex

You can add me in linkedin (Jimmy Paris)
PM me...
I'm a blockchain teacher now and you can ask me anything i will be here :)

hey @jimy74 I am so happy to read this. I dont use linkedin, I will write you on discord. I would like to ask you about academic degree options. Thank you!

thanks, that's a really helpful article and gives me lots of avenues to explore!

thanks to you @chrisjat !

Really great post, i am looking to learn about cryptocurrency and blockchains myself and then slowly stepping in.

thanks @gijswei I hope you will take positive things out of it. I just started to follow you too. Please if you have any crypto questions related, feel free to let me know and if I can help you, I will make sure to create value for you!

Readers are learners bro. I actually wish I know much about cryptocurrency but It's not my thing but you have actually teach how to start with it and it is helpful.
I love Steem and SBD. The best. Lolx.

@seyiodus.

and believe me, if you love steem and sbd, you will also love XAP from APPICS... please check it out, and lets talk about it =)

What is up with XAP? I have not heard of it before. Tell me more about the Token.

@el-cr,

A very beautiful post. Good advice to the newbie. Continue your of good heart and you will find a way into their hearts.

@stevenmosoes

@stevenmosoes

thanks @stevenmosoes I am glad you like it! feel free to share with friends that dont know where to start, maybe they will find it useful. I am not an expert, I am just a new learner...

My pleasure and I will share it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59