Ed's Bitcoin atm adventure.

Well I finally did it @thedamus and @silverstackeruk. Without using a bank I bought some crypto's. Just 2 blocks from where I work near downtown Saskatoon is a weird board game pub place that has a bitcoin atm.

Armed with $20 lottery winnings and $50 profit from a junk van deal with a co-worker I set out to diversify my portfolio. To even things out I added another $30 from the months grocery fund to make it an even $100. The old man at the counter was short with me but he did say that about half a dozen people use the atm daily.

It was a very simple process, just hold your phone(showing your wallets qr code) under the scanner and put cash in. I chose to buy litecoin with my Canadian currency, it came out to 2.10482004 with my hundred dollars.I didn't pay attention to the fees or take to many pictures because the place was full of squares with their eyes all over me.

Yeah I took a receipt and high tailed it outta there, about ten blocks of driving later I had an email notification saying that new funds have been added to my wallet. Easy peasy lemon squeasy 🍋.

Wil I do it again? I suppose if I feel the price is right than yes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The barrier to entry into crypto is still quite high but having an ATM just 2 blocks away helps. I drove 300 km to get to one a couple of years ago but I had a blast doing it.

Roughriders all the way next year!

Oh man thats a drive, I suppose I've driven more than that just for taco bell though🤘

Posted using Partiko Android

That machine works like magic, coincidentally I was there on the same day checking it out for the first time!

Great minds think alike 😜

Pretty cool isnt it! I actually only use those ATM's to sell bitcoin for cash, so the government won't find out. Upvoted and resteemed!

Thanks for the resteem😁 Merry Christmas.

Posted using Partiko Android

The machine looks like my 1985 Apple III computer. But well done.

Hahaha is the what you blog with?

Posted using Partiko Android

If my Theory is correct, you'll be able to stick a Hundred Dollar "Bill" into the BitCoin ATM, and you'll get back "either" One U.S. Crypto-Dollar, "or" One Hunded U.S. Crypto-Cents... I'm calling it the Transfer of Wealth... Remember this... Physical U.S. Coinage will get you an "Equal" amount of U.S. Crypto-Dollars and Cents...

I think I have about 4 dollars of us coinage.

Posted using Partiko Android

What about U.S. Silver Eagle Dollars...???

I have one a.s.e. and it was a gift. They're too expensive up here.

Posted using Partiko Android

I take it, U.S. Coinage is hard to come by up there...???

Probably similar to Canadian stuff down there I suppose.

Posted using Partiko Android

Brilliant that more and more people are putting money into crypto, although the price is low adoption is rising.

And here I thought I was the cheesiest, at least that's what my wife says.

Posted using Partiko Android

I never said you weren't haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Right on Ed!! The honey badger takes your cash, but she'll yeild rewards in the future! Congrats brother. I bet it won't be your last time with that machine... And thank you for pointing out a toon town location for me to use!!!!

🤘🤘 this one is in the ghetto, but Elvis knows all about the ghetto right?

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol. I live in Regina's ghetto!!! And years ago I used to go to the Barry hotel bar there... Lol. I don't hang there anymore!

I withdrew $500 (it was the maximum you could withdraw) from a bitcoin ATM here in Edmonton during the summer of 2016 when crypto was in the bull run. It was the one and only time I’ve ever used a crypto ATM. I’d definitely use a crypto ATM again!

Awesome man, and the banks were none the wiser. Merry Christmas.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77