Telegram and Scammers

![Screenshot_2018-11-14-13-29-46.png](

Hello Steemians, today I would like today to start a discussion on the scammers on the app telegram. If you use steemit more then likely you useTelegram. This little app is evolving into a powerhouse within in the crypto space with a telegram group basic for any crypto project. Telegram has brought the investor and the developer together seamlessly but is prone to scammers. Which brings me to the reason for the post... Enjoy and God bless!

A few days a few days ago I attempted a swing trade on a signal from a telegram group I use often. I have never used the exchange OEX the coin was listed on but the group is pretty solid on the signals. I deposited 0.11 BTC into my BTC wallet and was looking to purchase a coin called INB. Mind you this Iite had an English tab but yet still managed to keep vital things in Chinese so I had to constantly use a translator just to get by. Long story short i put in a buy order and the system bought in about 5% of my order but the rest was in order or frozen as OEX calls it in the UI.

There I was with this unknown Chinese exchange holding my BTC and error messages everywhere telling me the action was impossible. I immediately started freaking out as anyone else would but remembered telegram. A few minutes later I was in the OEX official telegram group. The room was dead but I posted a message asking for an admin or supportI Someone responded 10 minutes later that it was 3 am in China and that I would have to wait till those people woke up. It was around 3 pm or so here i am here in the USA so I felt a bit of relief in getting this all resolved the same day. An hour or two later I receive two messages from people claiming to be OEX staff. One was an Asian woman with a name that was constantly updating the official group.

The other on the other hand had only OEXSupport as the name. For a while, I did not think much about the two. One was telling me that support was aware of my issue and would be responding within a few minutes. The other one asked me for an email and even pictures of my dashboard. Which I thought was for him to prove my account and the dude talked a good one. Four hours later and still, my money was frozen but in watching the OEX group I never saw OEXSupport post once. I got a little paranoid I then asked the Asian woman about the other support messages and she asked for screenshots of the conversation.
Screenshot_2018-11-14-13-03-55.png

I sent her some screenshots and she told me this dude I was talking with for more than four hours was a scammer. I could not believe it. He spoke of the OEX blockchain and how my funds had glitched somehow while being transferred. Like it was all real. The last few messages between me and OEXSuport basically was me playing along while he instructed me to deposit 5 BTC into a wallet that OEX would provide to rectify my funds. I would end up with my funds nearly 7 hours later night time in the USA but could not forget the scammer that went to great lengths to steal my money.

Now the shocker with all this that this is not the firsts time this has happened to me. A Problem with the exchange hitbtc brought out more than five random support staff last time and it took the group to decipher the real one. The next questions for me would be, how many people actually fall for these scams? What can official telegram groups do to prevent things like this?

This is my post but I would really like to open a discussion on maybe some solutions. I was thinking maybe official support would register in a different level of telegram account and show up a different colour than the rest of the members. What do you guys think?? Please if you know some one that can make some changes to this please share the post or the ideas. No one deserves to loose their money to a scammer!

Thank you for reading and sparing your time. Please show some love :P

Bitcoin address
3CNUEEMibtoR6CU5TFbT4fPugSLKgtvbzG

Sort:  

Congratulations @disphorianbliss! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @disphorianbliss! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57