DigixDAO win, Monero scare, Consolidating alt-coin holdings

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Some weeks back I wrote that I invested in DigixDAO, which is making an gold-backed stablecoin (DGX) and a governance token (DGD).

That project is getting closer to fruition, and in the past week or two the price of DGD shot up, one of the few winners in the side-ways trading market.

It's always nice to have a win like that!

digixd.jpg
Monero paper wallet

Some time back I bought a little monero and sent it to a paper wallet I generated. While I think Monero has a solid value proposition, I needed to pare down my holdings of alt-coins and wanted to consolidate more of them into a stake in Blocknet (https://blocknet.co/).

So I read about how to transfer from a monero paper wallet, and it was difficult! It reminded me of the high barrier to entry for non-technical folks that cryptocurrency still has.

I downloaded the official monero gui wallet for Windows. I imported my seed words, then it spent several hours syncing the monero blockchain, only to partially fail, then say it completed, and showed I had zero monero. I knew either it messed up or I was hacked.

I tried again, this time using my private keys. It froze in syncing and ultimately ran me out of disk space.

I did more searching, this time for "light wallet", and found a mobile app, Monerujo, that used a remote node to sync rather than pulling everything down on your system. It still took a long time, but Deo gratias once it completed I had my small amount of monero show up! No hackers.

I then sent it to an exchange, and used it to buy Blocknet.

Eggs in the Basket

Investment wise, I don't want to put all my eggs into one, or even ten, baskets. With so many promising projects in the crypto space, choosing "the winners" is a difficult conjecture. So currently I have spread out my investments across a score or so of cryptos.

Doing so, I expect that some may go to zero ultimately, but that even one winner among them could go to 10x or 100x given enough time. In the meantime, I have a large portion of my investment in blue chips: Bitcoin and Ethereum, and then a quarter or so in projects I believe in like MakerDAO, Blocknet, and DigixDAO, with the remaining portion distributed across ones like Ethos, Icon, Stellar, Cardano, Neo, Aion, Nuls, Loopring, Steem, Bancor, Enigma, Stratis, Chainlink, Request).

Let me know which projects you find most promising!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48