You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calm Down! A Few Thoughts about Investing and the Ups and Downs of the Cryptocurrency Markets

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Sure enough, Bitcoin is a bit of a dinosaur... it keeps going because of its "legacy status." Last time I sent some BTC, the confirmations took almost three hours, and the fee was the equivalent of 18 USD. Hardly fast and cheap.

I'm hoping 2018 will be the year where alt. coins develop an identity of their own.

Sort:  

I bet it will be, and unless BTC forks again or the existing version gets a complete overhaul (I read something about lightening technology...) - I doubt BTC will be the most practical. (when it comes to talking tech aspects, I admittedly know...not much lol. Enough to grasp a concept - no more)

These days I only use it as a medium to exchange between coins. It’s to slow and costly otherwise for the amounts I use. I fear if they do not get that issue resolved more places that are currently accepting only bitcoin will view all of cryptocurrency like it and just not accept any of it at all.

Watching it yesterday take two hours to do something that should take less than two seconds, reminded me that Bitcoin is a total dog! And Monero for example, as well as being fast, is also free.

https://getmonero.org/

Bitcoin is a bankers scam now:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32