Security with coins and tokens

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

image

It's been five months since I began investing and trading in cryptocurrencies. Losing my money to hackers was and is something I've always been concerned with.
After hearing stories day after day about this person or that having their tokens or coins hijacked from them, I decided to purchase a Ledger nano S. I was moving out of my apartment shortly after ordering it. So I was nervous that it wouldn't get to me in time. I decided to order a second one and have it rush delivered to my apartment.

It was only then that I found out my laptop was entirely too slow to be downloading any more programs to do ANYTHING on. Plus, it's going to crash soon. So I got a new laptop, downloaded all of the software needed to store all of my cryptos offline on my hardware wallet.

I've taken my security a step further, from myself, by putting my ledger in the trusted care of my brother back in my hometown. He doesn't know much about cryptos. He has a nice house with a massive safe..so where else should I put it. I know it's a dumb idea, but I've lost enough money trying to trade the coins I've bought instead of hodling. I know this will be the best way to ensure I don't trade my coins for at least 6 months to a year.

The cornerstone of the financial system was supposed to be securing it's citizens wealth. With a corroded financial system, it is starting to become a time in that we as people need to take responsibility for our own finances.

The world will only get worse with tyrannical governments taxing its citizens to death to rage war on innocent souls.

This is off topic. But I encourage everyone who feels safe leaving all of their on exchanges to invest in hardware storage.

If you trade coins in exchanges, you may think the coins that are in your wallet are yours, but if anything every happens to the exchange, (mtgox) "your" coins will be gone regardless of whether or not you have a private key.

Sort:  

Nice post, keep steeming
Follow=Follow + 5 upvotes
Please follow me and say hello in the comment, in response I will follow you back and give you 5 upvotes. win win.
Deal is a Deal.

This is wonderful news. Well done!

A very sobering thought @deeboe1126 - however I am new to this and starting off on the right foot is something I highly value so thanks for the heads up! lets get secure!

Hello sir
Would you like to join this company program?
Company name is x-traders.
New lunching company program .
$20 SIGN UP BONUS.
7 level deep referrals commission.
LEVELS OF CAREER LEADER 11.
BIG MATCHING BONUS.
Life long time passive income.
Life changing program.
If you join this company then you can change your life. Trust me. If you want to more details then click link below.
Read more details and after that join this company program.
More details https://x-traders.com/?ref=12025064

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44