I say "Ethereum", She says "Ethel"

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

1st Post! (and frankly 1st contribution to the Steemit community).

I'll introduce myself to the community properly in a future post, but for now I want to take the next step on this journey.

My first introduction to Cryptocurrency came by way of the Joe Rogan Experience, Episode #446 with Andreas Antonopoulos on January 27, 2014. For those that have not listened, I highly recommend you take the time to listen to it; he also appeared more recently in 2016 on Episode #844 where he and Joe chat about the latest crypto news, hacks, chemtrails, and his book, The Internet of Money.

Since 2014 I have been on the sidelines watching the technology improvements, investment gains (to the moon), Lamborghini memes, and total market value gain steem (yes, I really just did that). It was only recently that I made my first investment into the market by way of a USD/ETH transfer on a major exchange; my wife has taken to affectionately calling this investment "Ethel."

Ethel_Mertz.jpg6250754.png

Ethel Mertz eyeing the Ethereum

This investment represents less than 1% of our total investment portfolio, and yet it excites me the most. At the time of this writing, the price of our investment of 1 ETH is $1023.41.

Disclaimer: While I personally believe in the future growth of the cryptocurrency movement, I am well aware that I can lose all my investments.

Next Step in the Journey (Don't Stop Believin')

In what will become a series (please be short!) I will endeavor to capture each trade I make as I experiment with this investment. I will chronicle each step of the process, the useful tools I discover, the technologies I invest in, and the health of my crypto portfolio. This will be written by someone that is new to the community and mildly computer literate - I type at a 7th grade level, but I joke like your dad....

Thank you for reading,

Please leave comments and recommendations on what you would like to see next!

Sort:  

Hey man welcome to the community! I joined today as well hopefully we both will be successful and be able to grow alongside each other! I gave you a follow if you could check out my content as well that would be great

Welcome to you as well! Thank you for leaving a comment and I will certainly head over and check out your contributions. Have a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33