ICO worth investing in?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

What ICO has set out to solve a real-world problem? What ICO has a real-world problem solution?

I want to make money as much as the next guy but in doing so, I want it to be in something that I believe in. I got in on the Peerplays ICO because a) I love sports and b) I don't consider it gambling if you can consistently win and minimize your risk via knowledge. (See my very first post "Fantasy Football Investing or Gambling?" Many times before, I would make what I call a "petty bet" (usually about $5) with one of my friends where we put money on a sports event or outcome. We have thought about creating an app where we can have the bet that we make be funded right away from our accounts and the outcome verified by a third party (or numerous) which then releases the money to the winner. This is a good way to make sure that the money is actually exchanged because I know with a lot of my close friends, we make the bet but we hardly ever pursue the money afterwards. This kind bet has no house. No "house" can win the bet and I love that. That's why I was sold on the white paper for Peerplays. Couple that with the profit sharing to those that invested in the ICO seemed awesome as well.

But now I want to move on to the next one. I've done some very preliminary research and I've come across Basic Attention Token which I can't really say I'm completely sold yet but I do like the idea. I'd really like to solicit the communities thoughts because this platform - Steemit - is another one I've invested in and since the people on this site generally understand cryptocurrency, I believe the inputs would be extremely valuable.

Thoughts?

Sort:  

I've got money in The Legends Room, on Bittrex, but I don't think that covers all your bases.

An ICO that's opening tomorrow is the Mysterium ICO. I have a lot more confidence in that.

I've basically been strongly against VPN use for years now, assuming that because they are a centralized business that claims to protect privacy, I assume they do the exact opposite. They make you a target, because you look suspicious or something.

But Mysterium is a decentralized VPN, and that means no "house" wins, and beyond just that, multiple VPN servers means there's no one target. If the encryption is powerful, and the security is tight, this could be a long-term privacy protection service.

I'm certainly investing into it. Mysterium seems like a powerful service, with a lot of potential, and being the first decentralized VPN is nice too. I'd recommend looking into it.

I have heard of Mysterium on a couple of occasions but no real answers like yours. I will for sure be looking more into it now. Thanks so much for the input, and if I come across anything I believe in as a solution to a problem in the crypto world I'll let you know!

Congratulations @daks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75