Sort:  

I’m certain there is room for improvement while keeping things decentralized. Solvable? Not sure, but improvements that allow more people to enter. For example, wallets and exchanges could be made much easier to use, and that doesn’t affect the decentralization.

Agreed! Incremental progress in ease of use will go a long way in bringing people in to the fold. As you say wallets and exchanges seem to me to be low hanging fruit - if crypto could make things easier it would go a long way toward getting grandma to come aboard :)

I’ve tried to get friends to invest money they would otherwise blow. It’s not so difficult, until you tell how to purchase alts and then secure them in a wallet.

Exactly. If you've been in for awhile you get used to it, but conversations with newcomers remind me how non-intuitive it all is: come in on coinbase, but are you nuts, don't trade on coinbase, trade on gdax! Then transfer, but only to the exchanges that have the desired coin and make sure you don't do something stupid like adding a memo or messing up the address when transferring because all is lost forever, watch out for fees, use different wallets for different currencies, etc. etc. I'm fine with the effort because that goes along with being an early investor/adopter, but man, at some point, we have to make it super simple to attract the masses.

To me it's like a sports team or a company focusing on putting their own house in order first - of course there are many circumstances in competition or business you can't control but for the things you can control why not fix those to give yourself the best chance for success?

I've explained the whole Coinbase -> GDAX -> Binance -> wallet process to my wife and she just gives me a blank stare.

Ha! I got my wife @suitcasemama to join Steemit, that's as far as I'm going!

Finally someone understands what I’m saying! Thank you for your reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42