You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Managing crypto portfolios

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Wauw! I really like this post. Great details about your portfolio, you've inspired me ;-)

I've also just posted an update on my long term portfolio. Not as detailed, but maybe you can let me know what you think of it?

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptotem/my-strategic-cryptocurrency-portfolio-update-3

Thanks!

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment. I like your posts as well. Already took some ideas out there to improve my portfolio. Will comment on them as well and following you.

Cool, I will definitely follow yours as well!

To give you my personal thoughts on what you are ‘struggling with’:

  • Number of projects. To be honest, I notice a bit of FOMO (Fear of missing out). Your idea of reducing it to about 30 seems like a good step to me. Back in 2014 I actually was investing in a lot of different coins as well, because all seemed promising. Today only a few of them actually still exist. I didn’t force myself enough to really research the coins I invested in and was basically eating their marketing too often. I learned the hard way.
  • BTC/ETH Dominance. This is very personal and would go for less dominance of these two. BTC and ETH are relatively stable, but do not necessarily have the best tech nor are they necessarily doing what they promise better than others. What they do have is first mover advantage and therefore general acceptance. But I do think this will be challenged in about the next 12-18 months.
  • Industries. I like your approach with industries and I use it myself as well. I use it to confront myself with my decisions. Which are the main industries I believe in? Do I believe more in decentralized storage and computing power or more in prediction markets? Do I believe in blockchain as a basis for financial instruments or privacy/anonymity? And if I believe in the real world applicability of privacy focused coins, do I really need to invest in ZCash, PIVX, Verge and Monero or can I choose one, maybe two winners?

All in all, there is just so much information out there and so many promising concepts, we need discipline and focus to profit optimally. It is fun and exciting, but very time consuming as well. Hopefully we can help each other out a bit by writing about it here and share our thoughts :-)

Great comment - I enjoy the discussion very much and it makes me rethink which is a good thing for me.

Your comments are totally in line with my thought process inspired by all the comments of the last days.

My conclusion

  • less projects
  • btc/eth dominance - I am leaning towards less dominance but not final
    -Industries: I think I keep the % distribution for now. But with less project I might change that to just a descriptive figure which I look at making decisions and not a hard wired distribution mechanism.

And yes - I think best is to work together and exchange knowledge on protfolios. Actually that is what I am doing with @knircky several times a week since a couple of month now. It helps a lot.

When I redone my portfolio I will repost it here.

Nice, I will try to share my research and portfolio on a regular basis as well and follow @knircky more closely as well!

Looking forward to your next update!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63