๐Ÿ’ฐ๐Ÿ“ˆ My Strategic Cryptocurrency Portfolio - Update #6 - Developments, Changes & Context ๐Ÿ“ˆ๐Ÿ’ฐsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency โ€ข 7 years ago

Hi all!

Itโ€™s time for another update on my cryptocurrency portfolio. As I did last time, I also included the changes in the short-term Play Money segment of my portfolio.

I hope you enjoy these updates and you find them valuable. The main goal of these updates is to spark a discussion on what might be the ideal cryptocurrency target distribution within a long-term focused portfolio. Please share your thoughts with me and others :-)

Current target distribution long-term segment

The cryptocurrencies below make up at least 70% of all the coins that I hold at the moment of writing. They are the โ€˜Coreโ€™ segment of my portfolio as described in my post about the 70% Core / 30% Play Money approach to crypto investing.


Cryptocurrency Target Distribution on 13-11-2017 pie chart.png

Changes in the long-term segment (Core) since last update

Iโ€™ve reduced the number of coins in my long-term portfolio by one, together with some slight changes in their respective weights. Although I am a big fan of Steemit, Steem no longer has a position in my long-term segment. I have not sold any yet though.

Next to that, I increased Bitcoinโ€™s dominance because I believe the risk/reward ratio of BTC will be relatively good in the coming 6 months. Institutions are entering the space and will be focused on BTC because of its relative low uncertainty combined with the fact it is just the easiest one to get their hands on. As you can see, the three heavyweights make up 70% of my current target distribution.

NameSymbolCurrentChange (ฮ”)
BitcoinBTC30%+6%
WavesWAVES20%0%
EthereumETH20%+2%
NeoNEO8%-2%
RippleXRP8%0%
StratisSTRAT8%0%
MoneroXMR6%0%

Interesting events around the above I will be paying attention to are the so-called โ€˜Casheningโ€™ & Waves DEX update (planned on November 20th). What will you be paying attention to?

Changes (in order) in the short-term segment (Play Money) since last update

  • Sold VeriCoin (VRC)
  • Sold Verge (XVG)
  • Bought Metal (MTL)
  • Bought Waves Community Token (WCT)
  • Bought VeriCoin (VRC)
  • Bought Verge (XVG)

Thatโ€™s it for now. Please share your thoughts and letโ€™s discuss!


---> ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ Follow me for regular updates on my cryptocurrency portfolio, recent crypto purchases, crypto research or just some Dice Challenges to train your brain ;-)
---> ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ More on my 70% Core / 30% Play Money Portfolio Approach
---> ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ Resteems and Upvotes are appreciated!


Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, trader or developer. I am just a blockchain & cryptocurrencies enthusiast. Make sure you do your own research, draw your own conclusions and do not invest any money that you cannot afford to lose.

Sort: ย 

Still holding on strong to those WAVES tokens I see!

Keeping VTC and XVG for short term is a good idea I think. I feel these are 'flavor of the month' coins to be honest.

Monero is something I am starting to consider more and more myself to include in my long-term holds. The main thing that is stopping me is that I feel there is risk involved with governments banning it sometime in the future, because it is too anonymous. I think that might over time increase it's value? Not sure.. but if it does get outlawed at some point, it's going to be hard to get rid of it legally without blemishes. So I'm on the fence still. But wish I had picked some up when it was at $80 a while ago.. of course back then everything was super low, so I could hardly sell one of my other assets for it :-/

Yep, Waves is becoming the fastest blockchain now with Waves-NG & serious marketing budgets are expected to be used from december onwards ;-)

I get your point about Monero. On the other hand, how anonymous are cash and gold? How can they ban it? And basically without any solid blockchain analytics software combined with known addresses linked to identities, crypto is quite anonymous at this moment anyway ;-)

Well the thing I worry about with Monero is that they can easily ban it by regulating exchanges. Even decentralized exchanges, which could still trade Monero maybe, could be struck by regulation. Sure, Monero is untraceable... BUT.. you can blacklist Bitcoin payments. For example, if it turns out that you own 1 BTC but you have gotten it by trading on an illegal exchange (which some exchanges may be if they trade in outlawed crypto), then 'legal' exchanges could be required to refuse acceptance of that particular BTC. Since the blockchain is completely traceable, this BTC would be tainted forever and could never be exchanged for value (wether it be crypto or fiat) on legal exchanges.

If Monero can't be traded for dollars or untainted BTC, would it still have value? I think the above situation is not impossible.
Still, I think I should own at least 1 Monero, just to be safe. I can definitely see this going to $2000 before it gets attacked by governments.

Very interesting point you make there. It a bit late so my brain isn't functioning properly anymore. I will wrap my head around it tomorrow!

Very well balanced, despite I don't see any Bitshares there...get some, now is cheaper than ever ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks! I haven't done any solid research into BitShares. What are the main reason for you to be excited about it and are you in it for the short, mid or long-term?

Long term for sure...
have a look at this post, there is a table that explains very well by itself.
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@toofasteddie/bitshares-technical-analysis-breaking-the-upper-resistance-and-some-facts
Decentralized Exchanges are the future step in Cryptoland!

Interesting, I'm doing similar analysis. What I found so far is that short term plays are giving lower returns and more work than just holding for longer time. Unless you bought POWR 30 days ago... Getting in early on a coin is often the best strategy. People are too focused on the short term. Look at XRP, up 42000% since Jan 1st but most people would call it a bad coin based on the performance of the last 3 months.

Completely agree. Everybody sees dollar signs and want to get that 50x.

I actually try to bet on the market with the long-term holds (and try to outperform it slightly). The rest I put in either very briefly based on specific intel or a bit longer based on roadmap milestones en timing.

Good luck to you!

Would recommend IOTA, think it should be a staple in crypto portfolios. Has huge scale benefits and the potential for fee-less transactions. Some interesting projects are starting to use IOTA Tangle tech, like Sirin Labs who are building a blockchain smartphone.

I am actually looking into IOTA. Most difficult part it to determine to what extend it is relatively overvalued or not right now. Haven't done enough research to decide :-)

Yeah agreed! Think it has a strong team and a really good point of differences. Hopefully more exciting projects start using IOTA Tangle! Cheers

Amazing Portfolio, you should add Dash on it and eventually Guarani - GUA

Thanks! Wish I had kept my Dash half a year ago...Now it seems quite high though. I've never heard of GUA. What makes it special and what kind of team is behind it?

Sure, Guarani-GUA ICO begins November 30th - feel free to read our White Paper - https://www.guarani-crypto.net

Nice. Have you looked into Lisk? It is a strong project and has recently pulled back. Once they do their relaunch and release their SDK they will be big.

Hi! Yes I definitely have, and I do own some Lisk. Actually, I bought some more yesterday ;-)

I like platforms in general and Lisk seems solid to me. Is Lisk the most promising do you think?

have a look at Ark too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28