You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crazy Idea: Ending Homelessness With CryptoCurrency

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I've been homeless myself at times in my life. A few years ago I was trying to find a way to help the homeless with cryptocurrencies as well. I have to go out tonight but just ran into this while surfing my feed and just had to acknowledge this idea.

I hope to be able to help at some point. Kinda new here myself. U/R/&Followed.

~peace out...in~

Sort:  

Thanks for the support! Man it's good to hear, that you found footing and are looking for ways to help others. CryptoCurrency has so much potential in this field I think.

I've had some time to think about your idea @rawbinhutt and the idea of using cryptocurrencies to affect real change for the homeless. I don't want to deviate from your own post...getting the front line workers and volunteers up to speed on the blockchain would be a challenge in it'self.

Still one has to start somewhere yes/no? There have been some valid points and ideas by others commenting here. @arbitrarykitten quite rightly points out the main benefit of utilizing the blockchain and full disclosure. There are a lot of NGOs and some must have basic altruism at the heart of their work and not just making work for themselves and their cronies.

@joebloggs points out one of the main reason's people tend not to push for helping the homeless. The blackchain can, and probably would bring the cryptosphere into the spotlight as doing something good rather than the negative aspects most reported on.

I'm thinking perhaps if an exchange, maybe even just one cryptocurrency...STEEM to be precise allocate a small percentage of all transactions, upvotes and curation earnings go to a special wallet. The homeless and those who support the initiative could wear t-shits, hoodies and or hats..bumperstickers?...with a QR code for that wallet and some tag line or various themes and memes that can direct people who are interested here (Steemit) where they can learn more about how it all works and...as I mentioned earlier...the trend to end poverty on a regional basis and the added bonus of more people becoming motivated to getting involved in the cryptosphere.

Steemit would benefit directly as well through increased traffic and membership. Advocates for the homeless or dispossessed could present their unique purpose for requesting funds...the homeless could also join through the use of public libraries or other avenues access to the internet and Steemit.

I envision witnesses and delegates (not quite sure what these really are myself) overseeing the whole #fullsteemahead niche within the platform. Upvoting from steemians would help individuals and or groups who post blogs about their particular issue. Other larger NGO and chritable organizations can make their appeal through the same method of having an account where they keep steemians up to date on what it is they're doing with the funds raised and stories of how this initiative helped those that it was made for.

Large...hmmm #steemitwhalewallet donations can be voted on by all steemians who wish. Not upvoted...my understanding is we all have a vote on important issues as they arise. This would make more people like myself more familiar with the process of using their vote so they'll be better prepared when there are other issues not related to this initiative that would require their vote.

Again, like you said @rawbinhutt, this is just an idea. It IS up to those who support it in general to help bring it into reality. I have no doubt that the talent is here at Steemit and this could truly scale up into a grass roots movement that grows to a point where it transcends the cryptosphere itself and enters into the mainstream of global awareness.

Anything I can do to help just let me know...what we really need are some influential steemians, regardless their status, to help put a "package" together that will scale and catch the imagination of as many steemians as possible. This I don't know how to do as I'm only in my third week but I do know that initiatives are being/have been hammered out and implemented to help new arrivals.

If there be the will...Steemit and steemians can make this happen! imo You've started this great idea...keep at it...and follow that same heart that made you post this most excellent idea.
29005_476670065720698_597417979_n.jpg

~peace out...in~

EDIT: it had crossed my mind to make my own post about this but it just seemed somehow wrong to do so. I suppose any who wish to support this idea can make their own blog post and refer to this original post by @rawbinhutt. We need to find a way to get more eyes on this initiative...thus engaging more hearts and minds. I'm interested in seeing how this post trends...or doesn't. 7 days seems awfully restrictive to try to get traction for such a BIG idea.

Hey @cryptologyx. Thanks a bunch for the detailed comment! You have a lot of great ideas here, and you seem to have a passion for pushing them forward.

I want to make it clear, like I wrote in the post:

Feel free to expand on the idea any way you can. You do not need to credit me for anything. Consider it a global, open-source sort of project. You are welcome to criticize this idea in the comments or in your own Steemit post as you see fit.

I really mean this. You should write your ideas into your own post, so you can get more eyes on them! As stated, you don't even have to credit me for anything. The above ideas are yours, not mine. The ideas in my post are free for anyone to amend to, make their own versions off or what not.

As you say, you want more eyes on these ideas. Again, the ideas are now yours to do with as you please, and so I urge you to write your own ideas (based of mine or not, as you prefer), in your own post to spread the message that you have right here in your comment.

You have the experience of being homeless, I have not. You can add a deeper and different perspective compared to me. All I did was share an idea I had. What you can add goes beyond that, I feel.

Always...and in all ways. Yup...seems both are trending.

~smiles fer miles~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69