Crypto Will (Testament) - Have you ever thought about leaving all your assets to someone else? Don't lose your money! Give it to someone trustworthy

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Crypto will

CRYPTO WILL

I've been in this crypto adventure since a couple of months only, I'm investing money because I really believe in it, but now that my wallet has reached a certain value, I wondered what to do if something happened to me...
It's not an easy topic to tackle, but I think anyone in my situation should think seriously about it... before to leave so many ghost wallets.

I think many of you could be in my situation: I live with my wife who, while using both internet and computer, is completely ignorant about crypto coins... I have tried to explain something to her sometimes, but I understand that those who are not fully involved as us are bored easily and can not understand their value and concept.
Sure I can leave her some (many) notes, folders, key, signature... and then? what can she do? Kinda nothing...

THE IDEA

I'm a programmer, and I'm thinking about the idea to make a website, based on smart contracts, in which a user can define a successor (wife, son, cat...), certifing him/her with a series of authentication and let anything could help to become owner of wallets.
I know it's really difficult to trust in it (also if blockchain controls) and so I think to exclude that users would leave important things like keystore, passphrase or seeds... but the use could also be something like: "Love, you can find all about my crypto in the yellow box in the wardrobe in bedroom" or maybe you can upload a map that only you and wife knows about, and so on.

RECOVER REQUEST

The mechanism could be that after my death (really hope later than bitcoin death :D ) my wife could go to that website and do the request procedure to recover all I left her. This request would be pending, I would be advised with email, sms, etc and would be waiting for a cancel confirmation for some days (the time that I setted before) to prevent unwanted attempts before death :D
After the expiration of time (silent assent), if I have not canceled the request, I will be considered dead... :( so the procedure could go on, and my wife can have the informations I left her, recovering with the series of authentication we did at the beginning.

BUSINESS WAY

It could be also a business, maybe with a small fee to subscribe and have the possibility to create a crypto will.
But also selling something like a basic pack, a box (with a lock) with a clear crypto manual, with basic knowledges about coins, wallet (and all that can serve), maybe hardware wallet to store coins, or simply some usb keys to store all the owner want to leave.

What do you think? Could be a nice and useful idea? Let me know...
Steem on!

Sort:  

I was just discussing this with a friend, on the importance of keeping notes somewhere of the imoortant details to allow access on your portfolio in case knock on wood something unwanted happens. Luckily I have a niece who understands crypto and can take care of this for me.

Your idea is very good, I do hope someone really work on that project, I'll be watching out for the ico =^_^=

Thank you for reply, I'm glad you like the idea.
Really hope to work on to make it real.
Sure we will crowd it! (I will give you access 5 minutes before the sale :D )

Hahaha glad to be on the 'inside' this time! 😂😂😂😂

A nice idea. I personally will never put my trust in anything like that. For it to work I need to send my private keys to a third party and I will never trust third parties .
I have thought about this myself and I will buy a note book and write down all my codes in there. I store the book somewhere safe and instruct my family that after I die they need to search for the note book. I think that is the only safe way to do it.

Yes sure! The best thing it's this way, and I think the base of this structure is to teach they where to find something..
But I think it's better noone knows before i want :)

A very thought provoking post. Upvoted!

Yep, it's sad but true ;)

I even mentioned it to my missus last night because of your post. ;-)

Oh that's nice! I think it's worth thinking about it

Idea is Innovative. Only one thing, say, for some reason, I don't have access to phone for some big amount of time (2-3 months), what happens then?
Yes, this issue will be rare. But still.
And also, there should be more successors. Say I and my Wife Die together in an accident. Then My son or Daughter should get it. :)

[These are not questions, rather more of a feedback towards your product idea, which, I believe, will help you design it better.]

Upvoted, and I am following ;)

Thanks for this creative idea :D

Thanks! you're welcome!
I really appreciate ideas and helps.
The time should be setted by you, so if you plan to need more time you can change.
And anyway, it's only about if your successors ask for funds, so it supposed that you are...
About more successor sure, I think the same... it depends on how many enemy you would have that will try to kill you :)

Actually, may happen accidentally also.

Very very interesting idea. I really like the idea of setting up a contract with a "waiting period." Seems like a solid security measure. I would think a second verification of death by someone, perhaps an attorney that has helped create the will, would be a good additional measure to confirm death as well.

Yes sure! I thought also about the second person, but then I begun to thinking to wives and their lovers... :D

It is definitely something that we should all think about. I like your idea a lot, might build on it for myself. :)

Yes sure, it could also be home made :)
Resteem if you like ;)
Thank you

I was having this exact same conversation with my partner the other night, and thought of pretty much the same thing you did.

I did some research and found your post, as well as this:
https://www.digipulse.io/

These guys seem to be all over this issue.. their whitepaper is very extensive and they seem to be building an excellent product. Probably a good one to back if it's something you think you'd use (I know I will).

I only thought about airdrops: https://crypto-airdrops.de

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33