You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Substratum: Decentralizing the Internet With Personal Computers

Great post. You really dug into and analyzed several of the positive and negative aspects of the project.
I wonder how long it will take officials to start monitoring the Substratum network? Basically, the way TOR is now, it's not exactly wise to use it from home, if you are trying to protect your activity. As soon as you access a Tor node they can pretty much nail down your location. Which really isn't a concern unless you are at home and accessing TOR a lot.

Sort:  

Yeah, TOR was great back in the day. You shouldn't have any worries unless you're doing something illegal. If you're just hiding your tracks from private interests (say, a journalist working a story), that shouldn't be a problem. I'm guessing the feds will start monitoring any decentralized Internet activities as soon as they can. They're not concerned about people exercising their right to privacy as much as they are in catching people doing something illegal.

lol, I personally believe that you are correct, but I usually just keep all of mine in the open, just so there is never any reason for suspicion... The way I look at it, if I don't want someone to know something then I should probably keep it off the internet.

Good policy. I've never really had a reason to hide my tracks either. I don't know if that's good or bad.

lol, It depends on if all your friends are anarchist or not. They usually want to hide everything.

Haha yeah that's true. Except their anarchism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43