Wallet Hacks: How a Person Lost Over $300,000 Due to Simple Mistakes

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Starting two weeks ago, an ether wallet received hundreds of thousands of dollars. The only problem was that these funds were hacked from different wallets. Unfortunately, the vast majority of the funds were hacked due to carelessness on the part of the user.

Over the past couple of weeks, over $400,000 worth of Ethereum has been transferred into a hacker’s wallet, the transactions are shown here. Over $350,000 of the ether was stolen using a process that was released publicly over two months ago. With some security measures, at least some of the funds could have been saved from the hacker.

The full article: https://coinidol.com/wallet-hacks-how-person-lost-funds/
wallet.jpg

Sort:  

I would be so depressed if I lost that much ether.. I lost 200 PIVX and am having a hard time :(

Thank you for sharing, @coinidol. I was hoping that you would provide more info about the subject here instead of only posting the link, though.

A fine reminder to keep your coins in cold storage... and back them up! I would be torn to lose this amount.

Can you provide more details or links on the 'security measures'. I've read that you should not leave your coins in the exchange's vault but transfer them to your paper wallet. I have just began to study how cryptos work and I am trying to understand how to avoid the pitfalls. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65181.06
ETH 3405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48