I Think It's Time to Say Goodbye to Genesis MiningsteemCreated with Sketch.

So Genesis Mining finally paid me... kinda. Apparently, according to their site, the cloud mining company was hacked and promises to process payments over the next coming days. While I did get one payment on my daughter's account; this instance has brought me around to believing this wasn't a good investment to begin with. Here are the reasons:

  1. Payments after the first day were on a decline and still are. I was full aware of the fact the payments would gradually decrease, but this wasn't gradual, it was pretty instant. In addition to that, the payments fluctuated a lot. That is what puzzled me a bit. How can it fluctuate so much? It also seemed to follow the flow of not the difficulty, but the value of the coin. Keep in mind that mining is for the coin itself, not value.

  2. Investing that money into a currency and trading is just more profitable. 2 weeks or so ago the market tanked. I could've closed my eyes and picked an asset to buy such as Steem and could've doubled my money in a week! In all fairness, reversing back to that time had I bought into Steem or another currency, I likely would NOT have sold it a week later, but would've likely held it for the long run. Still, after 2 years, one could rest assured that more money would be made by buying and holding as opposed to cloud mining.

That's pretty much it. Cloud mining is a simple process, so figuring out whether it's profitable or not isn't a complex deal. In the end, I'm glad I gave it a chance so I can know for sure, that it wasn't for me.

Sort:  

thank you.. u save me

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by praju.starlet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

One of my biggest issues with Genesis is liquidity...it's not like you can really get your money back after you invest...which is why I don't understand why people herald the program as the best cloud miner...besides having a halfway decent affiliate offer.

Not to self promote a post I created, but I did write about this in detail just yesterday: https://steemit.com/cloudmining/@reyhaynes/genesis-mining-is-not-the-best-cloud-miner-out-there-why-act-like-it-is

*Now Following! *

Congratulations @chrishamrick103! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I agree. It's better to just buy coins and trade or hold.

Trading is way more profitable. Mining takes too much time to break even. I couldnt agree more!

I been mining for years I get 30% a month, much easier than trading.

it sounds like mining is still profitable if you know what you doing and you have the right setup

ya, and getting in at the right time, with a plan, to many fail because they think its super easy

Are you cloud mining? Or do you have a rig setup? What coins are you mining? I believe it about timing. If you got in early when the difficulty is low, you'd have more coins today to reinvest into your system. The only way i can see returns like that though is with your own setup, a low electric bill and a powerful rig.

Do you use cloud mining? dogecoin you're mining? what evidence you have to support that? Just wondering :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59007.15
ETH 2493.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46