Should We Start Adding Privacy Burning To Chains?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)

Hey Private Jays

2019 has been a pretty interesting year for cryptocurrency with BTC starting to rally once again while alts completely fall off the wagon, we are far from the crypto bear run we saw in 2017 and many have defected in that time in terms of projects as well as investing.

One of the main issues with cryptocurrency has been privacy and the right to privacy with exchanges pushing for KYC, the building of KYC oracles and Libra bringing the discussion of privacy and cryptocurrency to the fore.

It really got me thinking about the topic and at first, I'm like well we have so-called privacy coins in Monero, DASH and ZCash.

Yes we do have these coins but they do make it a lot more complicated to do your transactions if you have to switch between them to obfuscate your transaction history and keep your purchases private, you also lose out on value during the various exchanges and it starts to become more of a punishment to remain private.

I do believe people should be allowed to have private transactions and I do think its something people want when we look at the value of Dash and Monero and the proliferation of other coins which claim privacy as their main USP I think having it as your only USP is hardly enough fo a drawcard and brings in a certain type of community and isolates others from wanting to use the chain.

869ee2cf-a27e-41ce-89ca-0daa3e5b4e8b.jpeg

Image source: - coinswitch.co

Paying for privacy

What I do think would be a better option to use is looking at providing an open blockchain for transactions but allowing users to use a second layer or side chains for privacy. For example, if it were a privacy layer on top fo ETH or BTC I could select the private transaction and pay a bit extra in gas or mining costs to make sure my transaction is done via a privacy layer or side chain and then synced to the blockchain.

Those who want to keep their transactions private would surely be willing to pay the extra cost which saves them on time, trading pairs, losing more value and adding more convenience to their crypto transactions.

Or for example, if I were using STEEM and STEEM Leo had a privacy option if there was a privacy token I could simply switch to the token to do my transactions and burn those tokens in the process. So the transaction is not only private but those tokens are removed from circulation never to be used again.

Do you think paid privacy transactions would help? Would you use paid privacy transactions

Have your say

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy & sell STEEMDonate LikeCoin For FreeEarn Interest On Crypto
blocktrades.jpgLikecoincryptocom.jpg
Sort:  

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

Hi - What do you think of https://tixl.me/ Our swedish youtuber Ivan on Tech are business angel and this is a private, instant coin. Have you read about it?

No, I've never heard of it and I also don't invest in projects that don't have a working application or rely on YouTubers for promotion. I would rather invest late and catch a small part of the upside then invest early in a shit coin project.

So you do not like shitcoin? Then you will not be able to buy my zzz-coin when I launch them ;-)
!BEER 1

LOL i don't want to buy zzz coin I want to be an investor and advisor and be on the website :P

of course. Now you have made your promise I take your photo from Steemit and call you Investor and Advisor. I will be the "The Scam-Man"

I would pay a little extra if I wanted a private transaction.

Posted using Partiko Android

lol me too, I think it would make for an interesting use case and make it more attractive to use 1 currency instead of like a bunch of them every time you want to go private. I mean if we want to go mainstream do you want to your partner to be able to see you booked something their birthday?

Privacy doesn't always mean we're trying to malicious stuff

Not everything kept private is bad.

Posted using Partiko Android

!ENGAGE 10 , I hope SCOT bot woke up this morning

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 6.63% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been manually curated by @leocurator and will be showcased in the LEO Curator Daily curation feature post. "The LEO Curator blog intends to compile all top curated #steemleo posts for the convenience of other LEO users in search for time worthy posts."

Sweet! My second manual pick! I'm all team leo all day long

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45