If you are looking for the best coins, go back to the basics.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I'm not a cryptocurrency guru but it seems to me that one of the things driving the market is supply and demand.

Best is also subjective. For me, it means a coin that I can count on to outperform most of the other things it could be doing for a given period of time. In the short term (days to weeks) that means better than the rebound that's going to happen in the stock market. In the medium term (weeks to months) that means something that will do better than the usual steady gainers (Amazon is up from 1250 to almost 1450 in A MONTH) and whatever ICOs I've invested in. Finally, in the long term (months to years) this means outperforming steady gainers, bonds, and some vintage musical instruments I'm sitting on.

Amazon over the last month:
Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 6.46.51 AM.png

Do I know which coins are going to pop off and hit the moon in the next week or so? Nope, not a darn clue. Although I hope ripple, stellar, IOTA and a few others get their stuff together and make me look like a wise investor.

Do I know which coins are going to do well in the next few weeks to a month? Nope, also not a darn clue. I feel like the ICOs I've put some money into will return a decent amount, I get an average of about a 100% increase when they hit the market..but that hasn't been in the face of a stagnant/hurting crypto market, so we shall see. I also expect my ETFs to bounce back shortly and continue their march to the top.

Finally, do I know which ones will be killing it in the long haul? Nope, but I have a clue here. There are a ton of ICOs coming on line every month...and legitimate ones at that. Many of them are based on the Ethereum platform and ETH is traded for these new coins. That means that these investors are trading other coins for ETH to invest, and will be for quite some times. There are new cryptos nipping at the heels of ETH for this distinction, but for now it is still the top dog. Neo, I'm looking at you.

However, the downside of this that we have to keep in mind that that this means that successful ICOs are getting $8, $14, $40 million in ETH a pop that they then need to turn into capital that they can invest in their ICO. So it's a little merry go round of ETH. The thought is that these successful ICOs are not selling it all off immediately and it behooves them for ETH to maintain or gain value so they will continue to be good stewards of the coin and not flood the market.

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 6.47.54 AM.png

Sort:  

Good to have people in the community who care about cryptocurrency! Appreciate your effort! I provide trending Cryptocurrency news daily. If you interested welcome to my blog @southforce

Definitely will! Look forward to reading it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28