Charity And Star Trek

I'm watching Star Trek: TNG right now (my favorite) and I can't help but think about some parallels between the Star Trek universe and my life at this point in time and space. I know... crazy, right? But one of the primary reasons I like Star Trek is due to the nature of human economics in the 24th century--money doesn't matter and people just, like, actually care about each other.

While watching Star Trek, I was conversing with some friends online about cryptocurrency investing (as I am wont to do). It occurred to me that I've actually been very successful in the past few months of wild-west crypto-investing, and that some of them, while also successful, were less successful than me. So I started wondering about how I could spread the wealth.

The initial idea that crossed my mind was to mine to someone else's (a friend's) wallet. I've been mining ZEN lately, and although it amounts to a meager sum in today's market, it occurred to me that some of my friends might be amused by seeing money just magically appear in their virtual wallet.

This seemed like a really cool idea at first, but now I'm wondering if that's even enough. When it comes to family, I have given some of my profits away and claimed that ("Oh, I invested some money for you and these are the returns..."), but how do I know when that's enough? For friends, it's even more difficult. I know that some of my friends work harder than I do, and are rewarded with less. (I consider myself very fortunate, in many ways). What can we do to ensure universal equilibrium across the vast universe of our lives?

If you have any ideas, or even just want to tell me that I'm crazy, I'd love to hear it. With 2017 in the past, my mind is preoccupied with making the world a better place in 2018, so this is where my mind tends to go. I'm just a little speckle in the vast world in the ever-more-vast throes of time, so I'd hate to see my good fortune in crypto be wasted entirely on my own, insignificant existence.

With that said, I'm definitely not a crypto-millionaire, or even close. Yet. ;) And I could lose it all tomorrow! But this is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and I want to know that I've done what I can to share it with those who I care about.

If that sounds corny, meh. I'm getting too old to care.

Sort:  

What an awesome post,welcome to steemit,a community of positive minds,do well to follow me @richdaddy

Congratulations @captainsteamo, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Thanks for providing such an awesome community!

I think your idea about being a benefactor, sharing your good fortune with those close to you is a great one. I loved reading this post. I guess in the Star Trek future, money is not necessary since work is necessary it is not rewarded disproportionately. There is no link between capital and currency. I guess that's what brings me here... a fascination about how the economy will evolve... the concept of the blockchain intrigues me rather than "playing the markets" with crypto currencies, universal incomes, distributed ledgers and different "tokens" for different types of purchase. This post brought me to this community the other day https://steemit.com/communism/@ekklesiagora/blockchain-communism

Am an old man and a long time Trekkie and absolutely loved your post. You are so far ahead of the game, pondering such thoughtful things when the grand majority of the world is looking at how to accumulate more for themselves. If more people had your compassion and desire to reach out, think of what a beautiful place this world could be. I don't think you need to burden yourself with some measurement of what is "enough." I think you follow your heart in individual cases, building on successes and learning from failed gifts. It is hard to go wrong giving to others. It is a pay it forward thing. Even if the person you are generous with does not continue the chain and grow in giving to others themselves, this is on them. They will have to live with their lack of compassion, and you are still free to pass along in a new direction, with the new knowledge of that failed investment. If you chose to gift to your friend, enjoy this exchange and then watch how it blossoms. You will know that your heart is good, and you will be receptive to who should receive your blessing in the future. You have inspired me to look at my own finances and giving and to reevaluate if I'm truly doing my best or am I just "generous" when it doesn't really affect me. Thanks.

Congratulations @captainsteamo! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @captainsteamo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44