Mining Ethereum with an RX 560, since all the 570s/580s are gone...

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I'll preface this by saying I'm not a miner. Well I guess I'm mining right now, so now I am. Plus I'm a UTEP alumni, and they are the Miners, so I am again. But that's beside the point. I didn't mine before today and I didn't buy this card for mining purposes.

As many of you have noticed I'm sure, the RX 470/570 and RX 480/580 are sold out absolutely everywhere. I've been trying to get my hands on one for a while now, but they've been sold out everywhere for months and marked up. I finally gave up and snagged a 4GB RX 560. Even that was hard to come by. All 4GB cards are usually sold out (Mining Eth is impossible now with a 2GB card.) But I timed it right and grabbed one just before they disappeared again!
1.JPG

Well here it is!
Unboxing is always fun!
unbox.JPG

And the card!
Card.JPG
Very little in the box, just a CD and a short installation guide. No adapters.
boxcontents.JPG

And the power, just one 6 pin connector.
power.JPG
I had wanted to do a bit of benchmarking, but since I don't have all the parts yet for the system it will find a home in, I just dropped it in my existing machine with a Phenom X4 9650... and a dead ram channel, so only single channel and 4GB. And a PCIe 2 slot. My Passmark scores were pretty abysmal. Hilariously bad, really, I wish I screenshotted them.I figured any benchmarks for the card I come up with in games are worthless.

But what about mining? Mining doesn't care about CPU performance or RAM. So is mining worth it?

I set up the Claymore miner, took me a bit to figure out the bat file configuration, but I eventually got it.
Smokesomehash.jpg

Sustaining about 12Mh/sec.

Now you could overclock, but I decided to go the other route... undervolt. I've been really amazed how low I could drop the voltages. Not sure if I just did well on the silicon lottery here, but check this out... I took it from the stock 1200ish mV down to 950 and it's been stable for hours. This is keeping the GPU something like 15 degrees cooler, and at a lower fan rate!

Not bad. So is it worth it? Well, it's important to keep in mind here that I work from home and I'm not the only one who uses this computer, so it is on all day anyway. The TDP of the RX 560 is 80 watts, though I would guess it is a fair bit lower undervolted like this. But just to be sure, let's call it 100W over the system without the card running. Profitability looks to be just about $2 a day.

So at this rate, it will pay for itself in about 2 months... if prices and global hashing hold. Suppose I can't complain too much. Maybe I'll grab a second... if I can find one. Is this how people turn into miners?

Sort:  

The mining difficulty will keep going up...
And your Hashpower is steady.

Therefore,Your daily earning will keep dropping.
I doubt that it is cost effective

assuming the value per coin stays static
Theres your problem

Right, I don't expect this to hold. But again, I didn't buy this card to mine, I needed an upgrade from my GTS 250 anyway, so might as well put it to work while it is worthwhile.

Hello, is it still profitable? I'm planning to buy rx560 for a budget gaming PC, if its still profitable ill get the 4gb version so i will be able to mine when i'm not using the PC. However if its not profitable ill get the 2gb version since its a lot cheaper here and they perform similar on games i plan to play.

it better for you to get the 2 GB if you plan to mine something other than ETH ETHER has crashed and price is very low.. plus a 4GB GPU wont be able to be used much longer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58251.90
ETH 3138.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24