You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SEC clarifies its perspective on ICOs, and guess what... YOU'RE GUILTY!!!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Alex, Sorry I missed this post when it was published. I had only been active on Steemit about a week or so. But I just found it through your Sola post.

What is your take on the legality of a businesses accepting crypto as payment? I know they are pushing you need a license to sell, but could a business that accepts it be considered an exchanges?(Assuming they with convert it to USD) Or would this be more like any other bartering agreement?(Assuming proper taxes are paid)

Sort:  

technically, your tax liability would be based on the equivalent value in USD the day of the transaction. of course, there are others things to be aware of as well. for example, some banks seem to have "issues" with people transferring proceeds from crypto exchanges as well:

Link: Bank of America Froze My Account For Buying Crypto

Link: Chase is closing my account due to bitcoin purchases

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51