Day1 attempt to mine using free $200 Azure credit

I have set up a Microsoft account, then did the free $200 credit to see if I can make any $ by mining with the most basic server they have. I am guessing about the most I will get is if I use something simple like Minergate or Nicehash because once I got in I found you are not allowed to use the Tesla card builds for any of the "free credits".

Ok, I've read a bit and it sounds like this is NOT a viable option, but nobody really lists what their throughput was, or just how much they made. Today is day 2 because I created the account last night and was unable to build anything. I have just finished my first server build, Windows 2008 Server (tried windows clients but you have to set up an MSDN to do that).

Check list of what I have found so far:

  • No client windows allowed unless you set up a MSDN developer, and I'm guessing then pay for the account (may test this next)
  • No GPU builds are allowed with free credit
  • If you are new to Azure you should watch some youtube videos on how to set up a server, it is not the easiest thing for the average person (yes I know you techs can do it in your sleep)
  • I did not test Linux/Ubuntu
  • When building click the "View all" while choosing the size of the server then search for the cheapest server, $13.39 a month
  • Server build takes longer than I expected, at least 12 minutes. Boot up after remoting into the server takes forever too (low memory and cpu)

Using Minergate with the 1 CPU, I get a whopping 3-6 H/s mining Monero. This is less than I get on my cell phones using 1 CPU.

Day 1:
Spent 2-3 hours researching
Took me 45 minutes to get one up, copy the tool for Minergate and get it going

Will do Day 2 tomorrow night!

Hope this helps. Ask questions on what you want me to try/check out and I will try to do those on the following nights or respond to comments.

Who am I?
BORIS!

Sort:  

Thanks for the info, I'll wait for the

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81