[Introduction] Why I start blogging about cryptocurrency

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

This is my first ever blog post. I decided to start blogging my digital asset portfolio strategy and performances and also my ideas on some of the news and information. Mostly from an investment perspective.
Before I start, I would like to introduce myself. Bsc investment and financial risk management from Cass Business School, London, 2012. After graduating, started working with China Development Bank as corporate finance analyst and after that at a boutique Chinese investment bank as an associate.
I first acknowledged the existence of Bitcoin and the Blockchain back in 2012. It all begun because I was searching for the “study” drug, adderall or ritalin or rubifen (generic version of ritalin), whatever I can get my hands on to get an edge for my academic as I wasnt book-smart.
When I first purchased 47 Bitcoin at GBP 7/BTC, I never thought there’s another currency outside of fiat currency that store monetary value that allows me to purchase real world goods. Then I became fascinated with this new idea and I have a deeper look at what is bitcoin and blockchain. At that time, bitcoin is only used by dark web as a medium of exchange due to its anonymity function.
In 2015, I completed my dissertation on bitcoin titled “Portfolio Diversification with Bitcoin”. Analyzing what financial characteristics does Bitcoin have, comparing to other newer cryptocurrencies that existed at the time, like dogecoin. You can find the research paper on my linkedin https://www.linkedin.com/in/leetinka/
To conclude my finding, Bitcoin is an enhanced version of gold, which exert even higher volatility and even higher return than gold, statistically speaking. But at the time, there wasnt enough data to conduct reliable research on bitcoin. As bitcoin only surge in price to GBP200/btc and mostly used for illegal activities.
When I was working as a banker (like everyone else), Ive been trading cryptocurrency on the side, mostly bitcoin. Until early 2017, cryptocurrency is getting mainstream, a lot of startup and VC are investing into blockchain related startup, japan has listed bitcoin as a currency and a lot of speculators are getting into the cryptocurrency market.
My avocation of cryptocurrency trading is starting to making more money than my soul-draining job. (mainly due to I wasn’t making lucrative salary like people from goldman or CICC with 44months bonus after being the underwriter and sponsor for alibaba) I decide to go full-time on trading cryptocurrency, reading more books on crypto and blockchain, looking at daily news and learn about what the communities is talking about.
In Hong Kong, theres a networking community called BNI. I think they are quite global. One day, my friend invited me to BNI as a guest, which I have to represent an industry that I am working for. My friend says “just pretend to be a cryptocurrency trader”. This is during apri or may in 2017, during the crazy surge of ETH and BTC. When I was in the event i have to give a speech about myself, my job and what i want to get from this community. The speech goes something like this “Hi, im a crypto trader. I have extensive experience in cryptotrading, if any of you interested in this new type of asset class, im glad to educate or consult you.” At the end, there were surprisingly a lot of people approach me to seek advise about cryptocurrency, mostly people above age of 40 who can’t even operate an iphone at its full potential. Some people even ask to invest in my non-existent fund. I was like “ya ok sure”.
This is when i realized there’s a huge information gap of traditional people or investors want to invest in this high tech asset class. Therefore, ive decide to make my non-existent fund to a real fund. (before SFC regulate the shit out of it)
Lastly, I am writing this blog mostly to keep track of my own thoughts and maybe one day i can look back and see how stupid or lucky i am to start this fund.
I will be sharing my strategy, ideas and other relevant stuff.

Sort:  

wish you good luck!

Start making a post with tag ''introduceyourself' and telling things about you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44