Zero to Hero Challenge: $0 to $1,000,000 - Day 81 (Nov. 21, 2017) : Daily Variation: -$2.51 ; Total: $26.65steemCreated with Sketch.



Yesterday, I was thinking about my challenge. Becoming a professional web developer seems harder than I thought. Also, I was looking at computer science programs at college and university, and they all complete chemistry, physics, mathematics courses, to understand better the physical process of computers and all computing machines. I think it would benefit me a lot in the long term to learn all of this.

But, after thinking and speaking with my girlfriend, I went back to focus mode. What do I need to achieve in the short term? Being qualified enough to work on sites like upwork.com and earn an income, to then use it to trade and make my way to the million.

Of course, when I'm able to make a living from web development, I can start to learn all these courses to improve my overall knowledge. But focus is very important and it's normal to deviate from it sometimes. The important thing is to take some time to think and make sure we come back on the track.

As I said in one of my first posts, persistency (and consistency) is what makes someone successful. I will be persistent despite hard times, and consistent in my daily work and will reach success.


Trading


No trading today.


Lessons

Web Development

W3Schools - AngularJS

11 / 25 Lessons Completed



16 / 28 Courses Completed


Crypto Earnings


No crypto earnings


Blockchain Whitepapers


No whitepaper summary


Jobs Earnings - 0.00$


No jobs earnings


Summary


*All token prices are taken from CoinMarketCap at the time I am writing this article.



If you liked what you saw and read, the best way to encourage me is to upvote my posts and/or follow me. Really no need to tip, I prefer to deserve my earnings through upvotes.


I will Power Up all the Steem Dollars I earn from upvotes, and will count them in my holdings to help me accomplish my goal. I know STEEMs are a good holding, so I plan to not touch them for years.


Vincent Boutin
CEO of Brainy Network Inc.
profile-picture

You can also follow us on Twitter @brainy_network and Facebook

Sort:  

My 10c. Don't start a career because of what money you think you might earn. Do something that you love, or at least enjoy. Life is too short to spend 8 - 10 hours a day on something you don't enjoy. You can pretty much make good money on anything as long as you good at it.

Thanks for the advice. Indeed, life is not all about money. Fortunately, I am aware of this. However, I need to earn a stable income to have a good quality life. The good thing is that I love learning anything about computer science :). The only thing is that I have to focus on one thing right now, which is web development, so I can make an income from it asap. Then, I can start to widen my knowledge on science.

The reason a university level computer science degree include all the science courses is not just to learn the science of how computers work, but to get a well rounded education in the sciences because many careers in programming are in the sciences. Chemists, physicists, biologists, etc. all use programs to help them in their field of study.

I see a wide divide between "programming" and "software engineering." The former doesn't necessarily include as much creativity and problem solving as the latter.

Choose your path wisely, and be sure to include enjoyment.

Good point. Both are very interesting to me. But indeed, I don't need to know all the "science" aspects of computer science to be a good web developer. I will stick to the plan before touching these subjects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45