Zero to Hero Challenge: $0 to $1,000,000 - Day 23steemCreated with Sketch.



Today was smooth. I spent my work day to learn HTML. I love learning :).


Lessons

Web Development

W3Schools


I completed a good chunk of the HTML course. I guess I should complete the course in 1 or 2 days.


Jobs Earnings - 0.12$

MicroWorkers


Crypto Earnings

Steemit


I thank all my upvoters and followers very much for my Steem earnings :)


Trading


No Trading


Summary


*All token prices are taken from CoinMarketCap at the time I am writing this article.



If you liked what you saw and read, the best way to encourage me is to upvote my posts and/or follow me. Really no need to tip, I prefer to deserve my earnings through upvotes.


I will Power Up all the Steem Dollars I earn from upvotes, and will count them in my holdings to help me accomplish my goal. I know STEEMs are a good holding, so I plan to not touch them for years.


Vincent Boutin
CEO of Brainy Network Inc.
profile-picture

You can also follow us on Twitter @brainy_network and Facebook

Sort:  

It's good to have a strong base of knowledge of HTML/CSS and javascript for web programming, especially javascript, because that's not just used for manipulating the user interface, but also to communicate with the server. However, most of the work with HTML and CSS is layout and design, it's meticulous work and requires a different skill set.

I've done the w3schools tutorials. They're quick and easy. You'll be up and running pretty quickly. My opinion is that it's best to choose to concentrate on which of 3 main areas of web work you like best: Design, Frontend or Backend.

Design is mostly producing pdf files for the web pages or it could include an html/css/js template since there are apps to do that.

Frontend is working within the design (and/or building the pages to match the pdf files) to hook it up to the backend - like enabling forms, error reporting and managing data displays.

Backend is working on the database and and the php functions used to build dynamic webpages, handling user sessions, form processing, etc.

Another option is wordpress, and that's a whole other world which can be quite lucrative. I don't have much experience with it. My overall opinion of it is that it's not a secure platform, and it's a blogging framework that has been turned into a behemoth of a code base that tries (and largely succeeds) at doing everything you could ever want.

One nifty thing you might want to explore is developing frontend templates and putting them on distribution sites like https://wrapbootstrap.com/ and https://themeforest.net/

They take a percent of your sales.

Aah that could be a nice idea indeed! However, I guess there is a lot of competition in frontend templates market right? Anyway, I'll take a look for sure and see how does the current market look like.

Thanks again for the suggestion! :)

I don't know what the market it like, but I shop on those two sites frequently. The nice thing is that once you have a concept that works, you just put it out there and it's passive income from there. The thing is, you have to really be creative with colors and fonts and ui elements.

Thanks for the summary of the current Web Development environment :). I will of start by learning all the languages, then maybe I will focus on one area (design, frontend or backend). I really don't know which one I'd chose yet.

Wordpress looks very interesting indeed. Especially to people with low programming knowledge I guess. I'll see if I can eventually build something from scratch, otherwise I'll look into WordPress.

Wordpress also has different areas to focus on. There are frontend templates, plug-ins and the admin. The admin part isn't programming so much as being able to work with a template and make it do what you want. Once you get the hang of it, you can build a wordpress site really fast by buying a template for under $50 , customizing it and you can typically bill between $300 and $500 for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65021.86
ETH 3571.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33