Crypto Noob here: Hello World

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Hello world, my first post here. Let's see how this thing works....

Although my nickname is bope86, I have decided to call myself Crypto Noob here. Sorry if that nickname stepped on someone else's but compared to heavy-category guys, i am a noob just playing around. I'll use my first post to describe stage 1 of my crypto path and noobism. Maybe someone more experienced will find it funny, and someone less experienced useful.

Stage 1: Genesis



I started my crypto story on October 1st i think. After China FUD in Septeber, when all prices started falling down and news about Bitcoin's doom started popping around, i got interested. I started checking the prices. #Bitcoin was going down. I was one of the guys thinking "it's over, those who invested are now screwed". Soon prices started recovering and i decided to take a closer look at that whole crypto world.

That's when i opened my #Kraken account. Back then opening an account on an exchange took a day. I even remember having "live" support from #Kraken support team as i had problems verifying my account. I sent a ticket and 1 hour later got response with problem resolution. Nice.

Before buying any crypto i've made a plan. I'm a software developer so i had some savings but i was skeptical. I wanted just a lick. Original plan was:

  1. Take a small amount (1000 E / 1200$)
  2. Buy strong currency for most of the money - around 900$
  3. Buy one weaker currency for less money - around 120$
  4. Place remaining 120$ into 10 "ave-Maria" coins "and let's see what will happen".

When i set my sights on particular coins (picking them purely based on vibe i get while looking at their website and coin name) i realized #Kraken won't be enough so i invested additional hour and opened up #Bittrex account as well. Yes, back then #Bittrex was accepting new users and opening an account took just couple of hours of waiting.

So, I ended up buying 3 #Ethereum for around 300$ a piece, 120$ i placed into #Ripple when it was 0.2$ a piece (yes, i got trapped into that typical "this one is cheap, it can moon" story. WTF is "this MarketCap thing anyway?"). Remaining 120$ i split into these coins (remember, back in the days minimal trade on #Bittrex was i think 7$ so i could experiment). 12$ for each:

  1. #Doge
  2. #Status
  3. #Cofound-it
  4. #BasicAttentionToken
  5. #Eos
  6. #Civic
  7. #RLC
  8. #Edgeless
  9. #EMC2
  10. #TRUST

You may see some "hot" names here. Don't worry, i haven't made any money of them.

  • #Doge i sold after a month, just when i realized "some" of the coins actually have underlying project / purpose and Doge isn't one of them. Oh boy....
  • #Eos i got when it was 0.5$. I sold it when it reached 0.7$ after reading some Bitcoin talk or #Steemit post claiming it's a scam and Dan Larimer is a scammer. Oh boy...
  • #EMC2 i sold some time after second fork got cancelled, literally 3 days before the "great pump of 2017". When i sold it, #EMC2 was 0.14$. Oh boy....

Note that i'm using fiat prices here because i have no idea how many sats which coin used to cost. Back then i never cared about sats price. It was too boring for me, reading all those leading 0s.

Other coins? Ah yes, i pretty much lost them minute-trading on #Bittrex. I had to learn what's a "commission" the hard way. I really believed those exchanges earn money using Ads which i normally don't see due to Adblocker and Ghostery.

So, i ended up with my 3 #Ethereum and 750 #Ripple. They were in a wallet and i refused to sell them. They where my "1 year" and "6 months" investments and i decided to go for "round number 2". Bought some #Bitcoin, kept portion of it in a wallet, and brought another 150$ portion to #Bittrex so i can play around a bit more. Yes, that's one-five-zero $. I was really bored and really skeptical. I just wanted to play, not to earn. Losing previous coins due to commission wasn't helping either.

This seems like a good start. In next post i'll describe my second stage:

Stage 2: Ah-a!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64