My first contact with cryptocurrency and already mining!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hi,

This is my first post here on Steem. And because it is using this marvelous technology called blockchain, I will discus about my first contact with cryptocurrency!

I've heard about Bitcoin since the beginning, but I've never thought that digital currency will take such a leap and grow like it did on the last months. 

So, thinking that would be better later than never, I've directly started into mining!

I have started using MinerGate, as it is probably the best mining software and pool for beginners, having in mind to mine for Ethereum.

First I've tried my old graphics card (GTX 960), but it was very slow on some coins and impossible to mine for ETH. So, I've immediately trowed all my money on a GTX 1080 Ti, as it also was the missing puzzle from my work and gaming rig :)

Now the mining is pretty good, having around 34 Mh/s on ETH (after some tweaks), but using Genoil Ethminer as mining software. The power used is around 320W at the wall, but my system has also a lot of fans and lights turned on.

It is hard to mine crypto with just one GPU, but not impossible. Is fun to learn anyway! There are some cheaper video cards better suited for mining (like AMD RX 480) so I don't recommend using GTX 1080 Ti just for this purpose, as it is far better GPU for 4K gaming :)

Apart from mining, I try to study as hard as I can the cryptocurrency market and technology, in order to be prepared for the future, as everybody is expecting to grow on very large scale and be adopted by much many people in the future.

So, my conclusion for now is: start learning all you can about cryptocurrency even if you think is too late, because never is too late! And if now you think is late, then after one or two years how it will be?

Cheers!


Sort:  

Welcome to the mining side of life. It is a bit of a steep learning curve isn't it? I don't recommend it for most people now that ETHs difficulty has gone through the roof. It is also impossible to find GPUs in most countries now.

sa ti o dau la cioc :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83