Calling All Crypto Miners and Block Chain Enthusiasts

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

thumbsup.jpg

Hello World!
My name is Boddhi (short for Boddhisatra), and I mine cryptocurrency and study Javascript programming. This is just a short introductory post so you know my interests and know what else to expect from me.

For the past year, I have lived in the East Bay Area of Northern California. I moved out here to be part of Silicon Valley because this is where all the great innovations, startups, and entrepreneurs come to take off. I recently started my own consulting business called Star Miners LLC where I teach people how to build their own mining rigs. To me the name represents the potential of what mining cryptocurrency is, that is, a seemingly infinite light source that we can harvest from. My priorities at the moment are finishing my Masters this spring 2018, finishing a prep course for Javascript Bootcamp at Hack Reactor, and learning more about blockchain programming. I am a firm believer that this will be a disruptive technology, revolutionizing changes in every industry from technology, real estate, health care, lending, credit rating, and more. I am quite optimistic that this industry will grow and prosper, but I am alright too with a backup plan like working as a coder for an established tech company in case crypto doesn't work out.

I currently mine Bitcoin with a Antminer S9 via Slushpool, Zcash with a 6 card Nvidia 1070 TI rig via Nanopool, and dual mine Ethereum and Sia Coin with a 6 card AMD rig (eventually will expand this to 12 cards) via Nanopool. I will share build guides, parts lists, detailed budgets, and ROI forecasts of my current projects in following posts.

mining.jpg

While I still consider myself at the hobbyist level and there are more technically skilled people out there than myself, I believe I have enough technical knowledge to be teaching others how to get into the hobby. I have fixed computers for the past ten years and have built Hackintosh computers in the past (a PC that will operate Mac OSx in case you didn't already know that). I love tinkering with gadgets, and figuring out how things work and how to make them operate better. Once I set a goal, I see problems that I encounter as stepping stones towards learning and understanding, rather than obstacles.

I fell into this niche by accident. Honestly, I was surprised that friends and acquaintances were offering to pay me to teach them how to build out their first rigs because I told them that I mined when they were talking about investing in Bitcoin. Well they ended up being very happy with the results of their first build, so they started sending me referrals and the rest is history.

Beyond teaching the hardware and technical aspects of mining to others, I really enjoy educating and coaching people through the learning process of piecing together their own rig, optimizing it for the best ROI, and mitigating their risks as well as managing their expectations. This a great platform to connect with people from all sorts of backgrounds who all share the commonality of wanting to invest in a better financial future and being willing to take that risk to dive into cryptocurrency.

I consider myself very risk adverse because I'm 32 years old now, and have made many financial mistakes in the past, so I perceive any costly mistakes as time lost than will never be regained. Mining cryptocurrency fits my profile because the hardware is a solid asset, and miners are shielded from the daily volatility of cryptocurrency prices.

I want to write more to record my journey, exchange ideas with fellow block chain and cryptocurrency enthusiast, and maybe my story will inspire someone else to take a chance and improve their life in meaningful way.

Stay tuned for my next article, because it will share my experience with operating an Antminer S9. I'll cover key topics like why Bitcoin mining is so centralized in China, risks of operating an ASIC miner versus a GPU miner, as well as covering all the main models and brands of ASIC mining.

Thanks for reading!
hiking.jpg

Sort:  

Hey I want to learn how to code, I'm very new at this, can you recommend a website or tutorial on how to start?

I went through many free JavaScript coding modules like Code Academy, FreeCodeCamp.org, and CodeSchool.com. These are great for testing the waters, but eventually you have to pay to go deeper into the lessons. Instead, go to Hack Reactor and sign up for their free prep program which provides structured learning (with videos, exercises, and reading) so that you can eventually apply for their intensive 10 week bootcamp. https://www.hackreactor.com/prep-programs

Congratulations @boddhi, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50