$13 ETH and Coinbase Down again!steemCreated with Sketch.

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 21.09.55.png

Someone just sold a big chuck of ETH at Gdax and of course Coinbase is now down again.

Seems like it was around $30 milllion in one sell order on Gdax exchange.

The dip was bought by orders set under $100 and Ether is now back at $300!

Until next time,
Rick

Sort:  

@bluesky2100 great catch!

I saw the same thing and was just blown away...

Limit orders... They saved the day for me.

https://steemit.com/ethereum/@jfgrissom/you-just-missed-an-ethereum-flash-crash-to-usd13-00

Nice video! Just upvoted you. I have set more limit orders just in case we get another dip!

Thanks Rick! I added a link to your post here. I thought people should know that you caught this also. You're up-voted and followed my friend! :)

Cheers, following you now as well!

I've seen reports of people with margin calls losing their entire portfolio...
eg. 400 ETH
2.3 ETH on margin
400 ETH sold for $2 a piece

Ouch. Ouch. Ouch.

@blakeh - I've seen a bunch of messages like that too on Reddit an Twitter...

Absolutely brutal. (I always trade with limit orders and never use margin so my only regret is not having set a limit order that seemed crazy at the time.)

There is metion of an ICO that caused it on ZeroHedge. http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2017-06-21/ethereum-flash-crashes-after-status-ico-clogs-network

This is the best video response I've seen on this so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34