Streamity challenge - Travel money suggestion

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Streamity is an up-and-coming  cryptocurrency <> fiat money exchange working on a peer-to-peer principle. In a nutshell their set-up allows to save on fees by skipping intermediaries and enables trustless exchange through smart contracts. 

The big goal is to attract all those people who are still sitting on the fence about entering the crypto space. Besides the compelling technical arguments, how may this be achieved?



I think an attractive angle for crypto sceptics or people largely unaware and disinterested in cryptocurrency is tourism. A major annoyance when travelling to another country with a different currency is having to spend: 

  1. some of your budget on exchange fees
  2. having to essentially waste money at the end of the holiday to "use it up" by buying that snack or gift you don't really need

If Streamity's fees are lower than regular fiat money exchange fees, it can absolutely rival all those banks and exchange booths. I could sell my GBP for STM tokens and then acquire EUR by selling my STM. 

A cool feature here would be if Streamity offered some sort of recommendation service that advices on best times to make such conversions. So, for example, in spring I declare in my account that I have GBP and want to obtain EUR by summer. Streamity could do some maths and predictions and tell me when I should sell my GBP for STM and buy EUR with STM. This would be dead convenient for people who don't read charts and want to plan ahead. They could even increase the holiday budget by holding their intermediary STM for a recommended period of time - a kind of savings exchange account.

Now, what about the left-over money?

If Streamity could pull off some sort of physical exchange that allows users to meet and log the transaction via a mobile app, that would be amazing. So, say I am spending may last few hours in Europe, I tell the app that I am ready to meet somebody at the airport to hand them my physical EUR cash. The person arrives, I give them the money and they log it in their account. Both of us receive a notification immediately via the app. Back home I can decide whether to convert the STM into GBP or leave them sitting in my account until the next holiday.


If you would like to participate in their current writing contest follow this link.

streamity2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60956.08
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50